Controlling Modul8 with software sequencers?
  • User avatar
    p8guitar
    member
    Posts: 35
    Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2005 6:59 pm
    Location: Bochum (Germany)

    Controlling Modul8 with software sequencers?

    by p8guitar » Sat Aug 19, 2006 9:27 pm

    Is it possible to control Modul8 with Midi CCs that are sent from a software sequencer like Ableton Live?
    I see an "Arkaos" midi port in Ableton Live, but Modul8 is invisible.
    (Modul8 2.5.4, Mac OS 10.4.9, iMac 2.33GHz Intel Core 2 duo / 2GB RAM; MIDI: RME fireface 800, Novation Remote ZSL, Korg microKontrol, Faderfox LV2 and LX2. )
  • jm302
    super8 member
    Posts: 110
    Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 7:47 pm
    Location: Seatown (Rain City)
    Contact:

    Re: Controlling Modul8 with software sequencers?

    by jm302 » Sat Aug 19, 2006 10:56 pm

    p8guitar wrote:Is it possible to control Modul8 with Midi CCs that are sent from a software sequencer like Ableton Live?


    Yes it is. Works like a charm.

    Cheers,
    J.
    "Just because no one understands you doesn't mean you're an artist" -- Anonymous

    http://www.302acid.com
  • User avatar
    p8guitar
    member
    Posts: 35
    Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2005 6:59 pm
    Location: Bochum (Germany)

    by p8guitar » Sat Aug 19, 2006 11:04 pm

    how do you do it?
  • Akira
    ultim8 member
    Posts: 388
    Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 5:47 pm
    Location: Argentina

    by Akira » Sun Aug 20, 2006 4:09 am

    Make your sequencing soft output MIDI to your modul8 computer.
    If you want to pipe it in the same computer (not recommended for obvious performance reasons), you can use any MIDI virtual routing soft I believe!

    I use the 2 computer method, much more reliable.
  • jm302
    super8 member
    Posts: 110
    Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 7:47 pm
    Location: Seatown (Rain City)
    Contact:

    by jm302 » Sun Aug 20, 2006 4:18 am

    "Just because no one understands you doesn't mean you're an artist" -- Anonymous

    http://www.302acid.com
  • User avatar
    p8guitar
    member
    Posts: 35
    Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2005 6:59 pm
    Location: Bochum (Germany)

    by p8guitar » Sun Aug 20, 2006 9:57 pm

    Akira wrote:...If you want to pipe it in the same computer (not recommended for obvious performance reasons), you can use any MIDI virtual routing soft I believe!
    ....


    I managed to route the MIDI signal from Ableton Live to modul8 on the same computer by a physical connection from midi out to midi in. This might cause a MIDI feedback loop in another context, so maybe not the best solution - but a simple one. With Arkaos this physical routing is not necessary, which confused me at first.

    I tried a virtual routing with Midi Pipe, but didn't succeed, maybe my logical thinking is a bit weak... :oops:

    Live and modul8 are a good combination, lots of new possibilities arise!
    :-)
  • User avatar
    p8guitar
    member
    Posts: 35
    Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2005 6:59 pm
    Location: Bochum (Germany)

    by p8guitar » Sun Aug 20, 2006 10:12 pm



    thanks for the links! I'll try that numerology thing tomorrow, looks interesting.

    modul8 misses some features which you could find in Union long ago (LFOs, effects+effects presets etc.), but Union's engine is so s-l-o-w ...
    Yet I haven't explored the modules much, there might be some more interesting effects. But this is getting off the thread's topic...
  • User avatar
    p8guitar
    member
    Posts: 35
    Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2005 6:59 pm
    Location: Bochum (Germany)

    by p8guitar » Mon Aug 21, 2006 10:22 pm

    Numerology and modul8 work together immediately without problems, great! Some more research necessary why this is more difficult with Ableton Live, though...
    (Modul8 2.5.4, Mac OS 10.4.9, iMac 2.33GHz Intel Core 2 duo / 2GB RAM; MIDI: RME fireface 800, Novation Remote ZSL, Korg microKontrol, Faderfox LV2 and LX2. )
  • vanakaru
    master
    Posts: 669
    Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 9:24 pm

    by vanakaru » Sat Sep 30, 2006 9:22 pm

    what versions of modul8 and numerologi you used. It does not work with mine. numerology sais: you can not use this patch with modul8 (v2)
  • User avatar
    p8guitar
    member
    Posts: 35
    Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2005 6:59 pm
    Location: Bochum (Germany)

    by p8guitar » Wed Oct 04, 2006 9:27 pm

    Unfortunately I haven't had time yet to explore the numerology+modul8 combination more deeply than just try out the files that refresh provided, but they worked here. I used numerology 1.4.3. It works with the modul8 version I use currently (2.0.2), tried it out today. First load the numerology file, than the modul8 file.
    sorry if this doesn't help you much!
    (Modul8 2.5.4, Mac OS 10.4.9, iMac 2.33GHz Intel Core 2 duo / 2GB RAM; MIDI: RME fireface 800, Novation Remote ZSL, Korg microKontrol, Faderfox LV2 and LX2. )

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests