clips stuttering/flickering on multiprojection
  • keptnahab
    member
    Posts: 30
    Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 4:51 am
    Location: munich, germany

    clips stuttering/flickering on multiprojection

    by keptnahab » Sat Jun 16, 2007 5:13 pm

    hi everybody,

    im working with a macpro, 2x3ghz xeon quadcore/5gbram/ext fw800 lacie
    i need to play clips from 120mb to 1,5gb, clips are mjpga with 75%quality
    the clips are 4096x768 (multiprojection) at 30fps. (animations&text)

    and unfortunaly they do stutter most the time !!!
    and it gets even worse the longer they run.

    i tried differnet settings in the preferences, but sometimes small clips stutter as
    well as the big ones so i cant really find out what the problem is.
    on the previews of the outputs it seems ok most of the time,
    but it mostly stutters when i go on fullscreen.

    i havent tested the rigg with projectors yet, but i got three more monitors to
    test it and with that configuration i even had flickering on two outputs (same gfxcard) !!!

    im really desperated a bit now, i bought all this stuff to setup a multiprojection rigg
    and in 2weeks i have the first event, and im not sure that this works properly !

    so please, anybody with experience on multiprojection could you please tell
    me everything gets ok now ? or at least in two weeks...
    ;-)

    serious, does anybody do projections in that size (4096x768) on modul8
    and how does it work properly ? or perhaps someone can tell me what im
    doing wrong. is it better to stream from a second internal hd perhaps ?

    i searched the forum already and im trying around now since a week now,
    but i cant get it !

    thank u
    mike
  • bratch
    super8 member
    Posts: 135
    Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 8:03 pm
    Location: Qbc

    by bratch » Sat Jun 16, 2007 8:17 pm

    i've never managed to make it work. I've tried the same, but in fact, quicktime can't play such a big movie without stuttering. It works better if you make 2 HD movies (1920x1080) and you join them. Your macpro will be able to play 2 HD movies without any pb.
    Good luck.
  • bratch
    super8 member
    Posts: 135
    Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 8:03 pm
    Location: Qbc

    by bratch » Sat Jun 16, 2007 8:18 pm

    oh, i forgot, but a RAID 0 hard drive would help you in this case also. :lol:
  • keptnahab
    member
    Posts: 30
    Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 4:51 am
    Location: munich, germany

    by keptnahab » Sat Jun 16, 2007 8:29 pm

    thank u for ur reply bratch, someone tried it also, that helps a bit...

    but i need to play this movies, so a raid would really be the solution ?!

    what do you mean with "join them" ? in m8 on two layers ?
    that would get too complicated, as i trigger each single film
    via midi (hog2 lighting console) and i also have many clips,
    i wouldnt get them all in the media lib....
    :roll:

    could this have something to do with quicktime ?
    on this mac qtpr 7.1.3 is installed (from a older finalcutpro)
    and the quicktimeplayer 7.1.5 (from the systemcd)
    ...
  • bratch
    super8 member
    Posts: 135
    Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 8:03 pm
    Location: Qbc

    by bratch » Sun Jun 17, 2007 8:21 pm

    for now, you cannot play this type of resolution (as far as i know) with quicktime. It's really too big for quicktime.Anyway forget Qt 7.1.5, too bugy.
    So if you cut your final composition in two files of 2048 x 768, it should run. Raid 0 Hard Drive will help you to play those HD files. I know it's not simple for triggering but i know there's a module that can play several layers with synchro. If it's too complicated for what you have to do, then try several resolutions in order to find the highest resolution that your mac will be able to play without stuttering.Then you'll have to zoom you file in M8, you will lose resolution, but that's all i can tell to help you. Maybe someone has another idea, i'd be very interested to know another way to do so.
  • User avatar
    Jaime / www.starloops.net
    member
    Posts: 39
    Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 4:57 pm
    Contact:

    by Jaime / www.starloops.net » Sun Jun 17, 2007 9:50 pm

    >>clips are mjpga with 75%quality ??

    Did you try Photo jpeg codec, shoud be much better to play on M8.

    As I know there is no quicktime size limitation, works fine with 4k movies.

    So recompress your movie with photojpeg codec 90 % and please tell us if it works better.

    Jaime
    Starloops Manager
    http://www.starloops.net
  • keptnahab
    member
    Posts: 30
    Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 4:51 am
    Location: munich, germany

    by keptnahab » Sun Jun 17, 2007 10:46 pm

    thanks for ur answer jaime, i always thought motionjpg is the codec.
    so now i rendered one clip in photojpg codec with 75%, the file is a bit smaller,
    but i stutters much more than motion jpg :(

    i also tried differnet resolutions (2048x384 / 1024x192) and they really play better...
    but then i have ugly pixels behind the text and everywhere, it looks very poor !

    i cant believe that there is a limitation by quicktime for 4k movies, what are the
    other guys doin, cutting movies in finalcutpro, i thought that apple is THE system
    for video and publish..?

    anyway, which raid would you recommend bratch ? is the software raid which u
    can install on the macpro fast enough ? or better a external fw800 solution ?

    mike

    update: just mentioned that my 20"samsung tft shows a poor picture with a
    2048x283clip the 5 year cold crt looks not so bad...
    how will a 4000ansi nec look like ??
  • bratch
    super8 member
    Posts: 135
    Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 8:03 pm
    Location: Qbc

    by bratch » Mon Jun 18, 2007 4:01 pm

    i bought 2 hard drives and linked them with raid 0 (physical raid). I'm not a specialist so i don't know about FW800, but i've always heard that raid 0 HD was the best...don't know about the software...
    For your beamers, i guess they are 1024x768, 4000 lumens is not bad, if they are not to old and if the lamps are not too old and have the same lamp time, it should be very good. It depends on the screen size you will have.
  • keptnahab
    member
    Posts: 30
    Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 4:51 am
    Location: munich, germany

    by keptnahab » Wed Jun 20, 2007 3:04 pm

    im really happy to announce now: it seems the problem is solved
    -with a internal software raid0 !

    i bought 2 seagate baracuda500gb, and setup a raid0 (striped) on my macpro
    this is very simple with the apple disk utility program
    now i can play all the movies which didnt played before !

    thanks all of you for ur help !

    mike
  • bratch
    super8 member
    Posts: 135
    Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 8:03 pm
    Location: Qbc

    by bratch » Wed Jun 20, 2007 4:47 pm

    so you can play 4096x768 movies in photo jpeg with quicktime 7.1.6 using multiprojection without any pb or stuttering?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests