What CPU are you using with Modul8 ?
  • What CPU are you using with Modul8 ?

    G3
    1
    3%
    G4
    24
    75%
    G4 (dual)
    1
    3%
    G5
    2
    6%
    G5 (dual)
    4
    13%
     
    Total votes: 32
  • User avatar
    yves@garagecube
    master
    Posts: 695
    Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 5:50 pm
    Location: Geneva
    Contact:

    What CPU are you using with Modul8 ?

    by yves@garagecube » Mon May 02, 2005 9:47 pm

    Hello VJs!

    A simple poll to let us know what processors are the most used with Modul8.
  • User avatar
    sigmasix
    master
    Posts: 1222
    Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:12 pm
    Location: gva | switzerland
    Contact:

    by sigmasix » Tue May 03, 2005 12:49 am

    wow, two persons with G5... I can'tt imagine moving a dual G5 in a club to run modul8 :shock: :lol: 8)
  • User avatar
    cal6n
    activ8 member
    Posts: 83
    Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 3:39 pm
    Location: Brighton, UK

    by cal6n » Tue May 03, 2005 1:07 am

    sigma6 wrote:wow, two persons with G5... I can'tt imagine moving a dual G5 in a club to run modul8 :shock: :lol: 8)


    Niether can I but I'd love too do it.

    Run modul8, not move my G5, you understand!
  • Mandingo
    member
    Posts: 17
    Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 6:46 am
    Location: USA

    by Mandingo » Tue May 03, 2005 1:28 am

    I have a road case on casters with my entire rig inside so it's not too bad. I love being able to run 4 layers 640x480 out and previewing the same. The Dual G5 is a great machine.
  • jm302
    super8 member
    Posts: 110
    Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 7:47 pm
    Location: Seatown (Rain City)
    Contact:

    by jm302 » Tue May 03, 2005 2:56 am

    sigma6 wrote:wow, two persons with G5... I can'tt imagine moving a dual G5 in a club to run modul8 :shock: :lol: 8)


    I was in the same boat as you... however, since Apple will seemingly never release a powerful laptop, the tower looks like the way to go. That last statement was partially in jest... but only partially (come on Apple, get the lead out!).

    In looking at the future (as much as is possible when discussing technology), it seems to me that a computer with an upgradable GPU is fairly essential. As of now, the high-end video cards from NVIDIA and ATI have 256MB VRAM. With more and more processing being pushed on the GPU, video cards will (I'm guessing) become much more essential to overall performance.

    Then there's the multi-processor issue: Modul8 is coded to take advantage of this, but it will probably be a cold day before an Apple laptop sees one–this isn't a bash on Apple, I've been a loyal mac user for almost 15 years, and will remain one for the forseeable future–just trying to be realistic.

    Then there's the fact that you get WAY more bang for your buck with a tower. For most VJs, portability is a key issue, but I'm in a band, so one more case in a van full of cases is no big deal. However, I'm still keeping my fingers crossed the next wave of Powerbooks will have a significant performance boost.

    Cheers,
    J.
    "Just because no one understands you doesn't mean you're an artist" -- Anonymous

    http://www.302acid.com
  • User avatar
    sigmasix
    master
    Posts: 1222
    Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:12 pm
    Location: gva | switzerland
    Contact:

    by sigmasix » Tue May 03, 2005 9:43 am

    yep, I agree with all of you ;) It would be great to have a G5 powerbook
    but...
    Image

    :D
    maybe now, after the G5 update and the fact that they could make the iMac G5, the G5 powerbook will come around the end of this year ?!? or next year... :roll: I hope ;)
  • studioc
    activ8 member
    Posts: 53
    Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 5:10 am
    Location: New York
    Contact:

    by studioc » Tue May 03, 2005 12:43 pm

    Hi, guys! I posted the G5 single processor. Its an iMac. I got an iLugger bag and its not bad hauling to gigs. Image
    The Revolution must be televised!
  • stuart
    activ8 member
    Posts: 65
    Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 2:18 am

    by stuart » Tue May 03, 2005 8:34 pm

    I also have a big iMac G5. I love love love love it. Best Mac I have ever owned (my first was a 512ke)
  • User avatar
    ptitlouis
    junior Member
    Posts: 4
    Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 12:40 pm
    Location: Sydney, AUS
    Contact:

    by ptitlouis » Sun Jun 05, 2005 2:00 am

    like to be great if the new g5 will like on the picture..... no more warm when mixin inside :wink:
    louis.
  • Akira
    ultim8 member
    Posts: 388
    Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 5:47 pm
    Location: Argentina

    by Akira » Wed Jun 08, 2005 10:08 am

    Seems like I am the only one with a G3!!!!
  • Guest

    by Guest » Mon Jun 13, 2005 2:26 am

    Hi.....
    I just want to know ,what set up you guys have for the dual G 5.....HOW MUCH RAM,WHAT'S THE VIDEO CARD OR GRAPHIC CARD ..............ETC.I am using G 5 dual 2.5, and I am trying to set it up my system in a new club in MIAMI,I am just curios about what you guys have........?
    Thank you.....
    Cristian
  • User avatar
    VJ-A2D
    activ8 member
    Posts: 91
    Joined: Wed May 25, 2005 2:23 pm
    Location: Paris
    Contact:

    by VJ-A2D » Mon Jun 13, 2005 2:08 pm

    http://www.garagecube.com/forum/viewtop ... =1401#1401
    here is our config...

    Native G5 1.8 with 3G of ram... Just to have full power :)

    So what is that new club in Miami? ;) ... Lived in Miami for 4 months last sommer...
    I'm kind of curious !!
    Plus2 Collectiv
  • Guest

    by Guest » Wed Jun 15, 2005 6:26 am

    HI.....
    The club just opened a month ago ''Nocturnal''.It is on the same street with Space,just before Space.
    Cristian
  • jason5d
    member
    Posts: 32
    Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 4:35 pm
    Location: uk
    Contact:

    by jason5d » Wed Jun 15, 2005 6:12 pm

    I've been testing modul8 on a number of different systems b4 we invest.
    The 2 systems of note a dual g4 1.42 and a dual g5 2ghz both with 2 gig of ram, the radeon 9800 128mb and and 3 slice 10K scsi u180 array

    results: can't tell the difference they both rip perfect real-time video. they don't slow down no matter what i do


    but this also raises another point that I don't reckon the g5 is that much faster than the g4

    yet to test M8 v2 i'll come back with results
  • User avatar
    VJ-A2D
    activ8 member
    Posts: 91
    Joined: Wed May 25, 2005 2:23 pm
    Location: Paris
    Contact:

    by VJ-A2D » Wed Jun 15, 2005 6:17 pm

    Well I'm working with a PB G4 1.5 1gb Ram and also a G5 2*1.8 2GB Ram and i can tell, there really is a difference especially if using a video device while having 4 layers running.
    And i must say, Modul8 really uses the processors, if not too much ;)
    But the v2 is really much "smoother" & stable the v1.1 the had
    Plus2 Collectiv

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest