Modul8 Video Capture Compatibilty List
  • User avatar
    deepvisual
    master
    Posts: 402
    Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 10:54 am
    Location: London UK
    Contact:

    by deepvisual » Thu Jul 23, 2009 7:19 am

    wont work
    the apple dvi-> video adapter uses the computer - it isn't a scan converter.

    you'd be needing a decent scan converter - around the £300 mark new, but if you are lucky you'll get one on ebay for much less, avoid the cheap ones, they are cheap for a reason.
  • NLS6XX
    junior Member
    Posts: 4
    Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 9:28 pm
    Location: ODK
    Contact:

    by NLS6XX » Thu Jul 23, 2009 10:52 am

    Thanks Deepvisual, do you have any brands or models in mind?
  • vanakaru
    master
    Posts: 669
    Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 9:24 pm

    by vanakaru » Thu Jul 23, 2009 2:26 pm

    I have one of the similar and works great!
    http://cgi.ebay.com/Scan-Do-1024-Scan-C ... 500wt_1182
  • NLS6XX
    junior Member
    Posts: 4
    Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 9:28 pm
    Location: ODK
    Contact:

    by NLS6XX » Tue Jul 28, 2009 5:58 pm

    Well, since we are quite short on cash for the moment, and we had a show yesterday were we wanted to test the new setup, we decided to go for a cheap converter. I must say it works very well. The quality of VSL through M8 is not perfect but it is more than good enough to work with.

    Thanks for the replies guys!
  • Vibber
    super8 member
    Posts: 161
    Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 1:02 pm

    by Vibber » Thu Jul 30, 2009 11:28 pm

    Have a look here for an alternative route. Framerates may vary - a lot - from setup to setup but it might be woth checking out before you buy new equipment:

    http://www.garagecube.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4243
  • User avatar
    lotech
    ultim8 member
    Posts: 228
    Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 1:26 am
    Location: Auckland, NZ
    Contact:

    by lotech » Tue Oct 06, 2009 7:05 am

    Updated the list to point at the video glide page - which lists a bunch of capture devices. I think we have a good list of devices to use.
  • martyw79
    activ8 member
    Posts: 54
    Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 5:26 am

    by martyw79 » Thu Oct 22, 2009 6:17 am

    damn. this rules out using my new video camera for live video feeds.

    AVCHD isn't very friendly.


    MartyW


    david wrote:Hi all,

    Modul8 2.5/2.6 is using QuickTime framework for doing video capture.

    So if you recording/grabbing device is supported by QuickTime (test with the record function of QuickTime Player pro), it should work with Modul8.

    For USB Camera, they should be compliant with UVC (Universal Video Class)

    For firewire, cameras using IIDC or DFG/1394 are supported. DV cameras are supported, but QuickTime is able to capture only one DV stream at a time.

    For other devices, they should have a VDIG or other QuickTime compatible driver (which is the case for blackmagic products but not for Elgato low-end products).

    Concerning AVCHD, I think most AVCHD cameras are not capable of sending a real-time video stream to the host computer. They are storing their data locally and then you could get the encoded movie from your Mac (QuickTime has no native support for AVCHD, so you need to transcode to a QT supported format).

    Last, HD support in Modul8 2.5.8 means that we support resolution higher than PAL/NTSC/VGA/XVGA/...; Previous versions were limited to 1024x768 so people with blackmagic cards were not able to get HD videos.

    HDV should be supported. If you manage to grab an HDV stream into QuickTime player and not in Modul8, please contact support[at]garagecube.com.

    I hope this clarify the current situation about grabbing.

    David

    PS: 2.6 supports upto 4 simultaneous video grab.
  • augustoamaral
    junior Member
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 3:43 am

    by augustoamaral » Wed Nov 04, 2009 5:45 am

    A Matrox MXO2 LE LAPTOP os a MATROX MXO2 MINI, works?? And why buy it and why not?

    a Pinnacle Video Capture for Mac. Nice? No?
  • VJnutcracker
    super8 member
    Posts: 116
    Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 1:55 pm

    by VJnutcracker » Wed Nov 25, 2009 2:18 pm

    Can i add a Panasonic GS 17 dv camcorder to the list as working with some latency.
    A little bit more latency than the imacs built in isight (how are you measuring how many frames latency each cam has anyway?)

    Also please add Genius DV120 (small mp4 type camcorder) as not working

    This has got me wondering about what other DV type camcorders work via USB, any users want to add their models to the list?
  • vanakaru
    master
    Posts: 669
    Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 9:24 pm

    by vanakaru » Wed Dec 02, 2009 1:10 pm

    Lets add Dazzle Hollywood DV FW Bridge to the list as well. It has been working ages so I did not even think about it. Has latency about few frames with MBP 4,1.
  • VJnutcracker
    super8 member
    Posts: 116
    Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 1:55 pm

    by VJnutcracker » Sun Dec 06, 2009 10:20 am

    Thanks for the DC60+ 3.1b info Vanakaru, your info has prompted me to order 4 of them to try out.
    I really wanna experience 4 live inputs in action and see how my mbp copes with all the data as well as its other functions.
  • User avatar
    lotech
    ultim8 member
    Posts: 228
    Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 1:26 am
    Location: Auckland, NZ
    Contact:

    by lotech » Mon Dec 07, 2009 4:34 am

    Yeah I just picked up a DC60+ for $US29, it arrived I plugged it, videoglide installed works perfectly below 1sec latency. The is some latency still there but much better than any DV input.
    Once thing have still to deal with though is the interlacing, the freeframe plugin works but seems to dip the luminance and soften the image. Is there another option people use?
  • negrocorvacho
    junior Member
    Posts: 3
    Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 6:55 pm

    dvi signal from another laptop into modul8

    by negrocorvacho » Fri Dec 18, 2009 5:38 am

    Hi-
    im part of audiovisual collective.
    we use modul8 on laptops,
    now we're running modul8 on a mac pro.
    if we want to do a multiprojection,
    we have to digitalize the signal form the laptop.
    im thinking of buying a blackmagic design intensity
    to capture the dvi signal from the laptop into HDMI
    (with a dvi to hdmi convertor)...
    anyone knows how would this work out?
    latency, compability?

    thnx

    vjNGR
    NGR
  • Vibber
    super8 member
    Posts: 161
    Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 1:02 pm

    by Vibber » Fri Dec 18, 2009 12:41 pm

    @ negrocorvacho: I haven't done it personally but a friend of mine does exactly this setup regularly. Works like a charm. I had my laptop hooked up with his MacPro this way once. There is latency but not much (haven't got the exact numbers)
    The other HD option (for laptops and MacPros) is a Matrox MXO2. It works too, but it is my impression that the Blackmagic is more stable and easy to configure.
  • User avatar
    lotech
    ultim8 member
    Posts: 228
    Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 1:26 am
    Location: Auckland, NZ
    Contact:

    by lotech » Sun Dec 20, 2009 11:35 pm

    I've updated the list to include the Matrox MX02's. I'm assuming the Mini will also work but is of course HD only.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 154 guests