dmx-ArtNet-Midi
  • artmachina
    junior Member
    Posts: 6
    Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 1:47 am
    Location: Italy
    Contact:

    dmx-ArtNet-Midi

    by artmachina » Mon May 25, 2009 11:02 am

    Hi Everyone!

    I'm desperately looking for a way to control Modul8 via ArtNet or Dmx.
    Alredy discussed posts onto this forum did not give me detailed info
    relevant hardware-software solutions.
    (apologize for this!)
    Is anybody using a kind of hardware/software able to control Modul8
    via Dmx or even better ArtNet?

    After years of using lot of "others" software, I found Modul8 the best for Rock & Roll and Live application (at certain level).
    Unfortunately I need an operator (WHEN POSSIBLE) because I can't integrate the control over Lighting desk.

    Actually I'm controlling Modul8 via TascamUS24 midi control surface which is fantastic.

    Again I would really really (I whish) reccomend to develop guys to serious think about ArtNet in future.
    This will open M8 to a lot of new users in my opinion.

    Thanx alot for support!
    Thanx for patience.
    Regards

    Aldo Visentin
    Show design
  • ilan

    by ilan » Mon May 25, 2009 11:45 am

    Hello Artmachine,

    Somewhere on this forum someone stated that they were using a MIDI to DMX solution. Unfortunately I cannot find this thread at the moment as the mention of DMX/MIDI was not included in the subject :(

    DMX is in the near future for us. Artnet in the distant one.
  • User avatar
    Sonicocr
    activ8 member
    Posts: 91
    Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 1:59 am
    Location: Costa Rica
    Contact:

    by Sonicocr » Tue May 26, 2009 4:14 am

    OMG!! :shock: ... I can't believe that DMX is before ArtNet in the priorities of GarageCube. If you put ArtNet compatibiliy to Modul8 you put instantly DMX compatibility. Also with ArtNet you can do Video LED Mapping and in the other side DMX needs alot of hardware try to do that...

    In this link you can find hardware to connect MIDI hardware to DMX and ArtNet tools:
    http://www.artisticlicence.com/

    With the Lanbox you can connect DMX to Ethernet and control MIDI software with a LightDesk:
    http://www.lanbox.com/

    Image
    This one include free software and with Isadora you can create a DMX data to MIDI conversion. In my case I need to use Isadora to process the MIDI data and send it to Modul8 like CC and MIDI notes.

    Please GarageCube people, put ArtNet in the future aditions to Modul8. :)
    Modul8 User in Costa Rica
    ____________________________
    "Love to see the sound in motion"
  • artmachina
    junior Member
    Posts: 6
    Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 1:47 am
    Location: Italy
    Contact:

    by artmachina » Tue May 26, 2009 10:41 pm

    HI Sonicocr

    Thanx alot for your help!
    Just to clear understanding;
    can you confirm me that Lanbox is able to "eat" ArtNet and send Midi data to M8 via USB? (if "yes" will be FANTASTIC!).
    I will appreciate if you can confirm me.

    I quote Sonicocr about the ArtNet.
    The protocol is UDP and quite "easy" and it has LOT of advantages than Dmx.
    (more channels-pixel mapping-compatibility with major consolles-NO EXTRA HARDWARE required).

    MANY MANY thanx!

    Regards

    Aldo Visentin
    Show Design
  • User avatar
    Sonicocr
    activ8 member
    Posts: 91
    Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 1:59 am
    Location: Costa Rica
    Contact:

    by Sonicocr » Wed May 27, 2009 1:35 am

    no no... the LanBox is a solution for getting DMX input and translate to CC and notes via Isadora or some costume made software. The Landbox is not part of the ArtNet concept.

    Example:

    - I get the DMX signal from the lightdesk.
    - I connect the signal to the DMX input of the Landbox
    - The LandBox comunicate with the mac using ETHERNET.. I dont use the usb port.
    - The mac with MAXj or Isadora process the data.
    - The DMX input can be used to grab and/or merge the DMX data from your favorite lighting console.

    I have never try to send the dmx input directly to the midi out (using the landbox as stand alone converter) ... they say is possible but I don't have that experience.
    For example is a aplication inside Isadora that do LED MAPPING sending the DMX data thru the landbox... I dream the day Modul8 can do it like Arkaos do.
    Modul8 User in Costa Rica
    ____________________________
    "Love to see the sound in motion"
  • artmachina
    junior Member
    Posts: 6
    Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 1:47 am
    Location: Italy
    Contact:

    by artmachina » Wed May 27, 2009 4:15 pm

    Hi Sonicocr

    Understand how you use the interface.
    You basically convert the dmx from console
    thru a ethernet protocol in midi commands for M8
    via Isadora.

    Thanx alot for your suggestion!!!
    Really precious.
    I'll tell you if I will get the control passing thru midi usb..

    Regards

    Aldo Visentin
    Show Design
  • chrismac86
    junior Member
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 10:34 am

    WHY?!

    by chrismac86 » Tue Jan 19, 2010 1:23 pm

    Why can i only patch in half a universe of DMX? (255 channels so not even)
    honestly as if only having one universe wasnt bad enuf
    (its like pissing on a bushfire.. in the scheme of thing its utterly useless) I cant even patch in a full 512 channels.. is this a module problem or a coding problem?
  • User avatar
    boris
    garageCube team
    Posts: 904
    Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:36 am
    Location: Geneva
    Contact:

    by boris » Thu Jan 21, 2010 5:44 am

    Please don t send your messages twice...

    You can found my answer here :
    http://www.garagecube.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=15666

    Modul8 2.6 is working with a full DMX universe.

    Boris.

    chrismac86 wrote:Why can i only patch in half a universe of DMX? (255 channels so not even)
    honestly as if only having one universe wasnt bad enuf
    (its like pissing on a bushfire.. in the scheme of thing its utterly useless) I cant even patch in a full 512 channels.. is this a module problem or a coding problem?
    Boris * garageCube team
  • anmol77
    junior Member
    Posts: 1
    Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 4:04 am

    Re: dmx-ArtNet-Midi

    by anmol77 » Wed Apr 20, 2016 6:13 am

    Is anybody using a kind of hardware/software able to control Modul8
    via Dmx or even better ArtNet? ???/

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest