mac + pc
  • infectedspleen

mac + pc

by infectedspleen » Thu Sep 10, 2009 7:59 pm

hi all,

i was just wondering... is there a way to send an output signal from a pc ie resolume 2.41 to a mac book pro running modul8.

my idea, crazy as it seems is to use modul8 for all the mapping and use resolume to mix the visuals, and send the output to each mapped screen. maybe via video capture or over the lan.
    nestor
    super8 member

by nestor » Fri Sep 11, 2009 5:22 am

Good idea for the next version of modul8
  • ilan

by ilan » Fri Sep 11, 2009 8:38 am

Please read this article:

http://www.modul8.us/2009/08/double-in-gr8-out.html

Contains a solution for your quest.
  • at-om-vision

Re: mac + pc

by at-om-vision » Thu Nov 03, 2011 7:16 pm

Hello people,

It's my first time on this forum, I've done some small VJ-Mapping sessions, but I'm still in the beginning of the adventure..

So I was looking for a solution to connect different computer (PC / MAC) to a MacPro for a big project for New Year, I checked the forum for the whole afternoon.. and I found some ways, some I've to test.. I think the solution from
    ilan could be interesting, but the link is dead..

The MacPro is used with Modul8 & MadMapper to make the mapping.. we will receive a signal from the Light Table to synchronize during the big midnightshow, we have many VJs which will play during the night (and I don't now yet what configuration they'll use), and would like to be able to add some Live Cameras (optionnal)..

I first thought that with DV input it will be fine, but there is the Delay, and I'm not sure every VJ will be able to send DV signal in Output.. Then I'm looking for a way to Input their VGA/DVI signals into the MacPro, I've seen these VGAtoUSB converter, but I don't really have money for that and I'll have to buy 2 at least.. and I'm asking me if some of them support 25fps..