Emulate Bit Bopper video gobos?
  • brett720

Emulate Bit Bopper video gobos?

by brett720 » Mon May 30, 2011 3:57 pm

Forgive me if I am asking the obvious as I am relatively new to modul8...but is there a filter/module that can emulate the way the Bit Bopper for Atari Falcon used greyscale "video gobos" to color cycle via blitter. The video gobos were nothing more than creative grey scale images that allowed the color cycling with incredible speed and smooth animation on the fly real time with multi layers ( at least incredible for back in the 90s) Here is a link to a video showing how it worked for those young ones here that never got to use Bit Bopper on Atari Falcon. I would love to figure out a method to emulate the look as closely as possible...mostly for nostalgic reasons from when I used to use it at my club many many years ago. Maybe I should go pull the Ataris out of the closet for old times sake!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=121YXuieutI
    gmint
    ultim8 member

by gmint » Wed Jun 01, 2011 12:46 am

Alright, while trying very hard to refrain from making any value judgments about your request :D I have two things for you. First, I don't know of such a module. The effect you're looking for seems pretty lo-tech and I can't imagine that there would be much of a market for such a thing. That said, I have to ask, is the "realtime" nature of the effect really a big selling point? I mean, you already have a video loop, why not just load that into Modul8 and play it back?
    DJ G Mint

www.MidwestDJs.com • [url=https://]www.minidj.com[/url]
    gmint
    ultim8 member

by gmint » Wed Jun 01, 2011 1:00 am