Post Reply 143 posts
Future of Modul8
    madsmeskalin
    activ8 member

Future of Modul8

by madsmeskalin » Sat Feb 11, 2012 4:26 pm

First of all: I know you guys dont have answers to this, but I want to hear the thoughts of somebody who has more experience than me.

Ive been using Modul8 since 2009, being the only interface that made sense to me. I tried Resolume back then, but it didnt really give me a hard-on. But lately Resolume seems to catch up, and go beyond. When I was playing with Resolume, the quality of my compositions went up a notch. It was easier to make good transitions, and the effects seemed a little more mature than Modul8´s. The DXV codec is a selling point in itself.

As it havent been a major update for quite some time, what do you guys think we will see from Garagecube in the future? Are Resolume a more stable company, with more resources for development, or do you think Garagecube will surprise us "apple-style" with something big in the near future?
    www.madsmeskalin.com - where dreams (notably mine) come true
  • vanakaru
    master

Re: Future of Modul8

by vanakaru » Sun Feb 12, 2012 7:49 pm

Funny how there is not much response to this. That is kind of answer for you from garagecube crowd.
    The same topic in VJF http://vjforums.com/showthread.php?t=37735
  • JaylikeBird

by JaylikeBird » Thu Mar 01, 2012 7:27 am

I get the sense that Modul8 was EOL'd when the team switched gears to work on MapMapMap, a seperate garagecube product. That's fine, I use Modul8 and it still works good, but now I feel as if I paid far too much. I assumed the high price meant the software wouldn't EOL so easily, but that's what happened to Shake and Color buyers as well, so nothing new here in the world of software. My erratic experience with Modul8 has made me wary of independent developers in general, which is sad.

(also forgot me forum info. Hey, it's the new me!)
  • ilan

by ilan » Thu Mar 01, 2012 3:37 pm