HAP codec usage
  • johnghadimi
    junior Member
    Posts: 3
    Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 8:22 pm

    HAP codec usage

    by johnghadimi » Wed May 25, 2016 8:53 pm

    Has anyone been encoding their videos with the HAP codec? Just curious if you are experiencing what I'm experiencing:

    - I've take a 30MB h264 file for a sample test
    - I did the regular HAP codec. It turned it into a 500MB file
    - Used HAP Q. Turned it into a 1GB file!

    What is the purpose of this codec? I thought it was meant to be an optimized codec. These files are huge. I'm just not sure why I would ever use this codec, if my H264 files are already super optimized. :D
  • anomad
    master
    Posts: 411
    Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 10:07 pm
    Location: north cakalacky, usa
    Contact:

    Re: HAP codec usage

    by anomad » Thu May 26, 2016 4:59 pm

    . if i understand HAP correctly, it's optimized for playback/scrubbing video (and can also do an Alpha channel when Modul8 implements that feature)…

    . H.264 is decompressed by the CPU - so, if you're running a lot of videos, effects or other applications - playback can suffer or other programs will lag…

    . Modul8HD is supposed to fix that when it's released.

    -james
    (a nomad. )
  • User avatar
    broken
    super8 member
    Posts: 113
    Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 11:44 pm
    Location: canada

    Re: HAP codec usage

    by broken » Fri Jun 10, 2016 5:55 pm

    Low CPU and GPU offloading is why I used HAP..

    I had plenty of SSD space for the larger files (Raid 0 too!), 6gb VRAM and experienced much lower overhead running more layers of HAP vs PhotoJPEG

    That being said.. with much larger file sizes, and Modul8 being a 32bit Quicktime app.. that 4gb of usable ram gets used up awfully quick... so there's some performance issues I experienced there, but was able to remedy it a little with a RAMDisk and would copy HAP media files to the RAMDisk and playback would be improved.
  • User avatar
    boris
    garageCube team
    Posts: 900
    Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:36 am
    Location: Geneva
    Contact:

    Re: HAP codec usage

    by boris » Sat Jun 25, 2016 10:06 pm

    Hi there,

    I have some good news, the upcoming version 3.0 resolve the performance issue using HAP.
    The performance are going to be amazing you can play up to 8K movie!

    The Beta version will be available in the next few weeks.

    Boris.

    broken wrote:Low CPU and GPU offloading is why I used HAP..

    I had plenty of SSD space for the larger files (Raid 0 too!), 6gb VRAM and experienced much lower overhead running more layers of HAP vs PhotoJPEG

    That being said.. with much larger file sizes, and Modul8 being a 32bit Quicktime app.. that 4gb of usable ram gets used up awfully quick... so there's some performance issues I experienced there, but was able to remedy it a little with a RAMDisk and would copy HAP media files to the RAMDisk and playback would be improved.
    Boris * garageCube team
  • User avatar
    boris
    garageCube team
    Posts: 900
    Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:36 am
    Location: Geneva
    Contact:

    Re: HAP codec usage

    by boris » Fri Jul 29, 2016 7:38 pm

    Modul8 V3.0 Beta 1 is released today!
    viewtopic.php?f=1&t=9577

    Enjoy!
    Boris.
    Boris * garageCube team
  • johnghadimi
    junior Member
    Posts: 3
    Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 8:22 pm

    Re: HAP codec usage

    by johnghadimi » Sat Aug 13, 2016 7:22 pm

    Appreciate the replies. Looking forward to taking V3 for a test drive. :)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest