VS Layer Sequencer module
  • User avatar
    Lupin
    garageCube team
    Posts: 383
    Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:37 pm
    Location: France
    Contact:

    VS Layer Sequencer module

    by Lupin » Tue Aug 29, 2006 3:28 pm

    Hi, i just released the alpha version of a layer sequencer module.
    i need the help of a senior M8 developper to optimize the engine and build a seamless beta version.
    Boris j'espère que tu iras faire un epetit tour et me donner deux ou troi s truc pour ameliorer le sequenceur :wink:
  • User avatar
    boris
    garageCube team
    Posts: 910
    Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:36 am
    Location: Geneva
    Contact:

    Re: VS Layer Sequencer module

    by boris » Tue Aug 29, 2006 10:34 pm

    YES :-)
    Nice module :D :D very usefull
    Thanks

    One nice improvement will be to add the BPM connection and MasterSpeed relativity.
    B.


    Lupin wrote:Hi, i just released the alpha version of a layer sequencer module.
    i need the help of a senior M8 developper to optimize the engine and build a seamless beta version.
    Boris j'espère que tu iras faire un epetit tour et me donner deux ou troi s truc pour ameliorer le sequenceur :wink:
    Boris * garageCube team
  • User avatar
    Lupin
    garageCube team
    Posts: 383
    Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:37 pm
    Location: France
    Contact:

    by Lupin » Wed Aug 30, 2006 6:55 pm

    i've done some improvements today:
    the 1.4.03a version runs seamless . I added a resynch button, a start button to design the pattern then run it. a group selector and within these button a speical one taht clones the pattern and apply it to both group a & b

    can you help me boris to add the BPM and the MasterSpeed Relativity?

    it would be sweet if the next documentation pdf could be more exhaustive about the scripting part. with examples and parameters and attribute types of each keyword. for inctance i still don't understand how the

    Code: Select all

    direct_layer_moduleDict
    and

    Code: Select all

    direct_layer_modulesDict
    works, especially the setup
    are you doing masterclass for scripting? :)
  • User avatar
    Lupin
    garageCube team
    Posts: 383
    Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:37 pm
    Location: France
    Contact:

    by Lupin » Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:04 pm

    the MasterSpeed Relativity has been added and works fine.
    the BPM will be the toughest part to deal with i think
    enjoy the 1.0b version
  • User avatar
    Lupin
    garageCube team
    Posts: 383
    Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:37 pm
    Location: France
    Contact:

    by Lupin » Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:06 am

    That's it! The module finally works with the BPM. :!:
    in order to make it work with the BPM i modified the garageCube BPM module and improved it with a beatposition viewer on the top of it.
    i'm open to any comments or requests 8)

    you need to download from your 2.03 online public Library :
    VS_LAYER SEQUENCER and VS_BPM

    have fun

    PS hey Boris I studied your code, i now understand how to use 'direct_layer_modulesDict' ;)
  • User avatar
    boris
    garageCube team
    Posts: 910
    Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:36 am
    Location: Geneva
    Contact:

    by boris » Thu Aug 31, 2006 9:40 am

    Hi sorry I'm at NY at this time and I don't have a lot of time.
    Here is some things about your work...

    -'L' and 'M' means Layer and Master some module are per layer or for all layers.
    'VS' seems to be a litle bit confuse in this case.
    I propose to you, if you want to put 'VS', something like 'M_VS...' or 'VS_M...'

    I continue In french sorry It's more easy for us...sorry for english people

    -L'idée du BMP c'est qu'il est centralisé et qu'il est utilisé par tous les modules qui en aurais besoin, ainsi faire deux BMP ne semble pas une bonne idée et nous préferons que la version officiel reste la seule pour une meilleure coérence.

    -Si l'on a pas affiché la position du beat c'est a cause d'un potentiel problème de performances qui pourrais ralentir modul8 si il y a beaucoup de mises à jours dans une fenêtre de modules.
    Mais rien n'empeche de faire un module qui affiche le beat du BPM ainsi ceux qui on des machines puissantes pourrons l'utiliser sans penaliser ceux qui ont des machines moins performantes.

    -Nous avons séparé les informations de quantisation (2/1 1/1 etc...) afin que chaque module puisse être basé sur le même beat et ainsi rester sychronisé tout en ayant la possibilité de ce placer differement dans le beat.
    Les réunirs ne semble être donc pas une bonne idée.

    -pour recuperer le BMP nous n'utilisons pas le 'direct_layer_modulesDict' qui est normalement un dictionnaire partagé par layer, ce qui posera des problème si par exemple tu détruit le layer, mais une nouvelle fonction (qui en plus est plus rapide) : getSharedDictionary()
    Qui te retourne un dictionnaire partagé entre tout les module et la clef, 'BMP_POSITION' te retourne la position dans le beat (generé par le module BPM).

    Ainsi avec le code suivant dans ton init,
    tu a accès au dictionnaire et si la clef n'existe pas elle est créé (ça évite des erreur si le module BPM n'a pas étét lancé au moins une fois) :

    Code: Select all

    sharedDict = module.getSharedDictionary()
    if not 'BMP_POSITION' in sharedDict :
       sharedDict['BMP_POSITION'] = 0.0


    Ensuite tu n'a plus qu'a utiliser : sharedDict['BMP_POSITION'] pour connaitre la position du beat.

    -J'ai vu une petite erreur de design dans ton module sequencer, il n'est pas basé sur le temps (pour la partie qui n'utilise pas le BPM), ainsi si pour une raison ou une autre ta machine ralentie ou si tu utilise une autre machine plus rapide les resultat seront differents, voir irregulier.
    Tu a pour cela dans le PeriodicalEvent une variable très utile qui s'appelle 'elapsed' qui est le temps passé depuis le dernier dernier appel de la fonction, ainsi en l'utilisant ton module sera basé sur le temps quoi qu'il arrive.

    Voila j'èspere que ça va t'aider à ameliorer le module afin qu'il marche parfaitement dans modul8, bonne suite et merci...

    Boris.
    Boris * garageCube team
  • User avatar
    Lupin
    garageCube team
    Posts: 383
    Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:37 pm
    Location: France
    Contact:

    by Lupin » Thu Aug 31, 2006 9:56 am

    merci Beaucoup Boris
    je vais faire les corrections necessaires
  • Akira
    ultim8 member
    Posts: 388
    Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 5:47 pm
    Location: Argentina

    by Akira » Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:20 pm

    Is this for 2.5 or 2.03?

    I didn't understand...
  • jm302
    super8 member
    Posts: 110
    Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 7:47 pm
    Location: Seatown (Rain City)
    Contact:

    by jm302 » Thu Aug 31, 2006 4:12 pm

    Akira wrote:Is this for 2.5 or 2.03?


    I think the L and M modules are strictly 2.5.

    J.
    "Just because no one understands you doesn't mean you're an artist" -- Anonymous

    http://www.302acid.com
  • User avatar
    Lupin
    garageCube team
    Posts: 383
    Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:37 pm
    Location: France
    Contact:

    by Lupin » Thu Aug 31, 2006 5:13 pm

    the current 1.1b is built for the 2.03 version
    the improved bpm one will be for 2.5 version

    I think M or L are just naming convention to make the difference between Layer Based modules and Master based modules
  • Akira
    ultim8 member
    Posts: 388
    Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 5:47 pm
    Location: Argentina

    by Akira » Thu Aug 31, 2006 11:03 pm

    will be waiting for the 2.5 one then ;)

    Thanks!
  • User avatar
    Lupin
    garageCube team
    Posts: 383
    Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:37 pm
    Location: France
    Contact:

    by Lupin » Mon Sep 04, 2006 3:29 am

    Akira wrote:will be waiting for the 2.5 one then ;)

    Thanks!

    Hi! refresh your module List :) and get the M-VS_LAYER_SEQUENCER v1.2.
    I just added the BPM control for the version 2.5. the 2.03 version of this module has been renamed as "VS_LAYER_SEQUENCER"
    Have fun!

    ;)
  • Akira
    ultim8 member
    Posts: 388
    Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 5:47 pm
    Location: Argentina

    by Akira » Mon Sep 04, 2006 4:07 am

    AWESOME module, VERY helpful!

    Thanks for building it ;)
  • vuzak
    member
    Posts: 15
    Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 1:15 pm
    Location: Trondheim, Norway
    Contact:

    Sequencer

    by vuzak » Wed Dec 13, 2006 1:25 pm

    Hi!

    Is this m,odule a multitrack sequencer, so you can place layers on a timeline, with each layer having one track?

    (I haven´t bought Modul8 yet, so I apologize if this is a dumb question!)

    I also read on the forum that Lupin uses the Matrox DuelHead2Go (or the triple?) with a MBPro. Do you get the advanced outputs on it? Like one layer on one screen, another on a second?

    I have so many questions :)
  • User avatar
    The Midi Thief
    master
    Posts: 483
    Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 7:19 pm
    Location: Stockholm, Sweden
    Contact:

    by The Midi Thief » Sun Dec 17, 2006 7:54 pm

    Lupin - I refreshed my 2.5 online library and couldn't find your module. Are you still sharing it?

    Fry Up / Induction

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests