info_layer_media_pixelSize_x UPDATE
    defkacko

info_layer_media_pixelSize_x UPDATE

by defkacko » Mon Feb 20, 2012 1:39 am

hello there,

I am very new to scripting in modul8 and not to mention python itself - feeling like in flying circus at all :]

I have problem to solve - neverending scrolling line of names specified from external file. This was not so difficult I've just used two text layers, split properly text into different text fields, give layers motion - so far no problem.

but serious problem is that info_layer_media_pixelSize_x doesn't return correct pixel size of text layer - sometimes it do, sometimes it does not - so I am not able to synchronize layers motion and position properly.

to find where my problem was i wrote this script - just to read values one by one from list and align them to the left

Code: Select all

#text field itself
    textField = ['basdfadsgdfsgsdfgdfsg','asdfasdfasdfasdfsd','2345435dfsgcvbxcer554t','asdgdfgsdfxcvdfsgdgfsdfgfdg','gsdfgsdfgsdfgsdfg']

#number of elements and active index
    maxField = len(textField)
    actidxField = 0

#resolution and text size
    resolution_x = 800.0
    textSize = 25.0

#setting text layer text size
    modul8.setValue('direct_layer_text_size',textSize,0)

###########################################

def TextChange () :
       global actidxField, textField

text=''

if actidxField >= maxField :
             actidxField = 0

text = '__' + textField[actidxField] + '__'
       actidxField += 1

modul8.setValue('direct_layer_position_x',0.0,0)
       modul8.setValue('direct_layer_text_field',text,0)

def TextLeft () :
       size = modul8.getValue('info_layer_media_pixelSize_x',0)
       posX = -(resolution_x / 2)+(size/2)
       modul8.setValue('direct_layer_position_x',posX,0)

###########################################

TextChange()
    TextLeft ()

and for button with 'CHANGE' message

Code: Select all

if msg == 'CHANGE' :
       TextChange()
       TextLeft ()