timecode genarator visual ?
  • User avatar
    pele2010
    ultim8 member
    Posts: 262
    Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2010 8:16 pm
    Location: Hamburg, Germany
    Contact:

    timecode genarator visual ?

    by pele2010 » Tue Nov 25, 2014 8:35 pm

    Hi all,

    i was wondering if it is possible to create a timecode generator. One that is recordable .
    It would be great for all kind of stuff.
    You could visually measure the delay or latency of 2 computers
    And you could actually use it for creating quit nice visuals too.

    i generate my time codes with after effects but i am dreaming of a generator inside of MD8.

    Anybody out there that helps me with this little project ?

    specs:
    generates numbers from 00:00:00:00 to 99:99:99:XX (depends on Framerate) (time can be altered)
    can be overlaid
    font can be selected
    font size change
    framerate can be selected (not a must but nice)
    Box can be around or not


    thanxs pele2010
    pele2010

    Act without doing; work without effort. Think of the small as large and the few as many. Confront the difficult while it is still easy;
    accomplish the great task by a series of small acts.
    http://www.eachfilm.de /// each01
  • User avatar
    pele2010
    ultim8 member
    Posts: 262
    Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2010 8:16 pm
    Location: Hamburg, Germany
    Contact:

    Re: timecode genarator visual ?

    by pele2010 » Mon Dec 08, 2014 9:17 pm

    Anyone that knows how to do the timecode in QC or in python ?

    Maybe this could help to implement it into MD8 ....

    Can´t find a QC timecode....

    would be greate to get some help on this.

    thanxs

    pele
    pele2010

    Act without doing; work without effort. Think of the small as large and the few as many. Confront the difficult while it is still easy;
    accomplish the great task by a series of small acts.
    http://www.eachfilm.de /// each01
  • .lov._
    member
    Posts: 16
    Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 8:11 pm
    Contact:

    Re: timecode genarator visual ?

    by .lov._ » Tue Dec 09, 2014 9:27 am

    This is just a receiver for QC, but Vezér can send MIDI timecode: http://cogevj.hu/forums/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1944#p5641
    Vezér - timeline and control software for visual artists
  • User avatar
    pele2010
    ultim8 member
    Posts: 262
    Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2010 8:16 pm
    Location: Hamburg, Germany
    Contact:

    Re: timecode genarator visual ?

    by pele2010 » Tue Dec 09, 2014 9:57 am

    Thanxs, ill give it a try.

    pele2010
    pele2010

    Act without doing; work without effort. Think of the small as large and the few as many. Confront the difficult while it is still easy;
    accomplish the great task by a series of small acts.
    http://www.eachfilm.de /// each01
  • User avatar
    deepvisual
    master
    Posts: 401
    Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 10:54 am
    Location: London UK
    Contact:

    Re: timecode genarator visual ?

    by deepvisual » Tue Dec 09, 2014 1:38 pm

  • User avatar
    pele2010
    ultim8 member
    Posts: 262
    Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2010 8:16 pm
    Location: Hamburg, Germany
    Contact:

    Re: timecode genarator visual ?

    by pele2010 » Tue Dec 09, 2014 2:01 pm

    Thanxs Deepvisual,

    it´s good to know this source.

    the idea was not to use a video source. It would be great it the Tc generates.
    basically it would be great if we could generate numbers or timecodes from
    within a module.

    anyone that knows if this is possible with freeframes ?

    thanxs

    pele2010
    pele2010

    Act without doing; work without effort. Think of the small as large and the few as many. Confront the difficult while it is still easy;
    accomplish the great task by a series of small acts.
    http://www.eachfilm.de /// each01
  • anomad
    master
    Posts: 411
    Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 10:07 pm
    Location: north cakalacky, usa
    Contact:

    Re: timecode genarator visual ?

    by anomad » Tue Dec 09, 2014 5:30 pm

    . i suppose if you want to dedicate a layer to the task, you could just write to the Text Module based on the position of the timePostiion of a different layer…

    . it looks like you can access number of frames, fps, length in the 'info_layer_media_****' keywords and determine the position via 'direct_layer_media_timePosition' (as a percentage of the total frames) then convert that to HH:MM:SS:FF - but, it would speed up/slow down based on the video clip speed and perhaps performance of Modul8 (but, it would work in reverse as well)

    . is that what you're thinking of ?

    -james
    (a nomad. )

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest