Preparing for a gig! Help with checklist!
  • Magnum

Preparing for a gig! Help with checklist!

by Magnum » Thu Mar 09, 2006 1:53 pm

Hello guys!

Its been 5 hours since I've heard of Modul8, 4 hours since I've tested almost all of its features, 2 hours since I've decided to purchase it and about an hour since I decided to VJ an upcoming gig.

8)

First of all, the app rocks!!! Im a graphic designer with motion/video background, and AfterEffects is going bye-bye for me for a while! Hello the world of projections and realtime motion!

Please help me prepare for an upcoming gig. I have my trusty Powerbook G4 and a 3000 Lumen projector inside a club. Ive never done this projection thing before, so what will I need? Do I need any VGA cables? Once I plug the Powerbook into the projector, will the OUTPUT be automatically projector full-screen while my Modul8 interface will stay on my Powerbook screen when I go into full-screen mode?

Umm..also, how do I plug live audio into Modul8? What plug/cable should ask the DJ?

Please help out, as this is the first time Im doing this, though Im ready to pump out crazy visuals out there and I know what Im doing regarding everything else.

its about 7 AM now, Im off to bed. ;)

peace,

Magnum

[/i]
    The Midi Thief
    master

Re: Preparing for a gig! Help with checklist!

by The Midi Thief » Thu Mar 09, 2006 3:55 pm

Magnum wrote:Please help me prepare for an upcoming gig. I have my trusty Powerbook G4 and a 3000 Lumen projector inside a club. Ive never done this projection thing before, so what will I need? Do I need any VGA cables?

It's of course depending on what input the projector takes and the distance between your powerbook and the projector.