multiply outputs

Mad, Mad FAQ's

multiply outputs

Postby justches » Mon Sep 19, 2011 7:29 pm

So it's not possible to have multiply outputs with madmapper is it, i.e. if you had more than one projector to send out to?

Thanks

-Justin
justches
Junior Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 7:23 pm

Postby franz » Tue Sep 20, 2011 10:30 am

You can use up to 3 outputs with a triple head to go (matrox)
franz
MadMapper master
 
Posts: 617
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 7:05 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: multiply outputs

Postby Maotik » Wed Apr 18, 2012 4:53 am

Hello,

Is it possible to soft blend the edges of the final output ?
I have 2 HD projectors set vertically.

Thank you
Maotik
Junior Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2012 4:46 am

Re: multiply outputs

Postby scaryxpuppy » Wed Apr 18, 2012 6:48 am

I use a program called BLENDY to achieve this........... very useful

PHIL
scaryxpuppy
activ8 member
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 11:13 am

Re: multiply outputs

Postby Maotik » Fri Apr 20, 2012 2:03 pm

Thank you!

And is it possible to output on 2HD projectors With MadMapper?
Maotik
Junior Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2012 4:46 am

Re: multiply outputs

Postby franz » Sun Apr 22, 2012 1:40 am

it is. even 3 with a matrox triple head to go
franz
MadMapper master
 
Posts: 617
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 7:05 pm
Location: Paris, France

multiply outputs

Postby Maotik » Mon Apr 23, 2012 10:30 pm

Thanks Franz.
I can't go higher than 1280 x 720 (2560X720)
I don't understand why, I have a macbook pro 2011 with this graphic card AMD Radeon HD 6490M
I am using a tripleHead 2 go.

Any Ideas ?

Mathieu
Maotik
Junior Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2012 4:46 am

Re: multiply outputs

Postby lotech » Mon Apr 23, 2012 11:20 pm

You can run a max of 2x 1080P or 3x 720P via a TH2Go.
User avatar
lotech
ultim8 member
 
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 1:26 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: multiply outputs

Postby Maotik » Wed Apr 25, 2012 4:41 am

Hello,
I use VDMX and Madmapper to output 2 X 1080 P with the triple head 2 go , but everything runs extremely slow. Madmapper get up to 75% in my activity monitor, even when I just display a still image. I tested it on a mac pro, with 8cores. do I need to change the graphic card ? (gt 120)
What graphic card do you recommend ?

Many thanks.

Mathieu
Maotik
Junior Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2012 4:46 am

Re: multiply outputs

Postby franz » Wed Apr 25, 2012 10:30 am

gt120 is quite old now.
If you were to update your gfx card, I would recommend the most powerful available
(if your wallet allows it of course).
As always with realtime application, the more power ... the better.
franz
MadMapper master
 
Posts: 617
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 7:05 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: multiply outputs

Postby labridis » Tue Sep 24, 2013 2:08 pm

Hi folks,
I see that the first post is quite old (2011) so i thought to bring again the subject up.
I need to run 8 projectors with madmapper. Is there any external graphics card or something similar to triplehead2go that can support 8 outputs and is communicating well with madmapper?

thanx
labridis
Junior Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 5:47 pm

Re: multiply outputs

Postby desilenceStudio » Mon Oct 21, 2013 4:45 pm

These cards from Datapath can in theoy give you up to 32 outputs from one machine:
http://www.datapath.co.uk/products/mult ... y-products

The x4 works with mac for sure. ( 4 outputs)
I am not fully aware if the DL8 works with mac (8 outputs, can be extended with up to 8 X4 units)

Seems like the X4 is a litle bit tricky to configure. Not as straight forward as Matrox trippelhead -
At least that is what I have been told (I havent tried the units myself )

However,
With the new mac pro around the corner it should give us a least 8 outputs (1x for screen + 5x thunderbolt outputs + 1x tripplehead = 8 outputs)
It could be pretty cool if GarageCube would make networked playback sync support in a future version of map mapper (please please please) to get around those limits.
|||| DESILENCE: http://www.dslnc.com/reel/
|||| SOCIAL: @Desilence_
|||| FEATURED SHOW - https://vimeo.com/desilence/golden-bug-victor-live
User avatar
desilenceStudio
Member
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 1:49 pm
Location: Barcelona

Re: multiply outputs

Postby allexandre » Tue Nov 17, 2015 10:41 am

Hello,

I'm working on a projet for 3 VP : 1920x768px and two 1024x768px. Unfortunately, I can't check the set-up before the dates.
I use a Macbook Pro Retina (2013) and I have 1 HDMI and 1 thunderbolt free for the video (I use 1 thunderbolt for audio).
I think using HDMI for the main VP (1920x768px) and thunderbolt for the lateral VP (1024x768px) with a Matrox tripleHead Digital SE (the venue have the Matrox).
I use Madmapper to manage the projection.

Everything work fine on my computer but I need to know if this configuration, with 3P plug, will work fine with madmapper ?
What about the computer performances with 3 VP ?

Thank you for your experience.
Never do this before :)

Alex
allexandre
Junior Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 2:15 pm

Re: multiply outputs

Postby mad-matt » Thu Dec 10, 2015 10:34 am

Yes it will work fine. On my retina 2013 I do 5 full HD output and it works great. However, to get 60 FPS I have to collapse the previews. With 3 outputs no problem.
To get everything smooth, be sure your outputs are running with the same frequency (ie all three projectors are at 60 Hz or 100 Hz) and if your projectors are 60Hz your movies (if using movies) should be at 30 FPS (or 60 FPS) and if working at 100 Hz your movies should be 50 FPS.
Cheers,
matt
mad-matt
MadMapper master
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 5:50 pm

Re: multiply outputs

Postby roccog » Wed Mar 01, 2017 10:49 pm

jumping in this one...
I need to use 2 projectors with MadMapper on MacBook pro. can I connect the projectors to the thunderbolt outputs? will then MadMapper read 2 projectors? what if I use an HMI split? in this case, MadMapper will think I'm using 1 projector?

thanks, rg
roccog
Junior Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 5:16 pm

Next

Return to MadMapper FAQ

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest