Is a Linux or Windows version planned?

Frequently Asked Questions about Modul8 (with answers!)

Moderator: Garagecube

xp version needed

Postby borrelhapje » Sat May 06, 2006 10:57 am

Same here, I'd buy a windows version instantly. It's a bit pricey to just buy a mac for the single purpose of running M8.
borrelhapje
 

Postby sigmasix » Sun May 07, 2006 1:09 pm

hehe, come on, if you own a mac you won't use it only for modul8, you can do the same even more than with your peecee...
User avatar
sigmasix
master
 
Posts: 1206
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:12 pm
Location: gva | switzerland

Postby Guest » Tue May 09, 2006 12:06 pm

exactly... Final Cut Pro, Motion, Modul8, Soundtrack Pro, DVD studio Pro, Logic Pro... ÇoreAudio, CoreImage, Network Midi, Quartz Composer, iLife...
Guest
 

buying a mac just for Modul8?

Postby borrelhapje » Fri May 19, 2006 12:01 pm

Well, when I do buy a mac it'd be for the hardware, especially the new macbook pro's are just fantastic. And sure, I'll use it for Final Cut Pro and Motion as well...but don't underestimate the video editing powers of the trusty old pc platform. I don't really need to switch platforms for that.
borrelhapje
 

Re: buying a mac just for Modul8?

Postby yves@garagecube » Thu May 25, 2006 10:32 am

Please no platform wars here. It is a FAQ. If you want to talk about that go to the Lounge.

http://www.garagecube.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=13

Thank you.
User avatar
yves@garagecube
master
 
Posts: 695
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 5:50 pm
Location: Geneva

Postby Akira » Mon Jun 05, 2006 7:03 am

argh, spam!!

someone lock this thread, it's pointless...
Akira
ultim8 member
 
Posts: 388
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 5:47 pm
Location: Argentina

i would be really interested

Postby sebcool » Fri Jan 26, 2007 4:49 am

i would be really interested in buying a windows version of modul8
sebcool
Junior Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 11:49 pm

Postby cal6n » Sat Jan 27, 2007 3:52 am

With the release of version 2.5, it's become really, really, really unlikely that any non-Mac release will happen. The reason: Core Image. It's a requirement for modul8 and doesn't exist for Windows or Linux.

Face facts. If you want modul8, you need a Mac.
User avatar
cal6n
activ8 member
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 3:39 pm
Location: Brighton, UK

Postby Threeza » Wed Jun 20, 2007 6:14 am

gmint wrote:Allow me to translate what many of those asking for a windows version are really saying:

Windows user: Come on, I've already shelled out $800 bucks on this no brand PC and I don't have the money to buy a Mac, but I'll have no problem paying $300 for the program if you release it for windows, honest!

Translated: I can't afford to buy a Mac, and I sure as hell can't afford to buy a $300 piece of software so would you please release it for windows so I can download a cracked version off of BitTorrent?


I don't think that entirely fair... Of course theres going to be people ripping off software regardless of platform, however a lot of us would buy a legit version straight off... I much prefer pc's - for what you get for how much you pay the interface and easy customization straight off (not arguing just preference)... I would definiately buy Modul8 straight off for use on my $5k pc... =D

Film making background recently got into vjing and this is the first software that even comes close to letting me do what i want to in reality... V gutted to find it mac only. Is there any further word on the possibility of a pc release.
Threeza
Junior Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 6:06 am

Postby Threeza » Wed Jun 20, 2007 6:17 am

cal6n wrote:With the release of version 2.5, it's become really, really, really unlikely that any non-Mac release will happen. The reason: Core Image. It's a requirement for modul8 and doesn't exist for Windows or Linux.

Face facts. If you want modul8, you need a Mac.


And it is possible to replicate core image - a plugin to pc gfx card drivers, independent piece of software...


Anyone who is serious about performing with your software will pay for it... any one who isnt wouldnt have bought it anyway.
Threeza
Junior Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 6:06 am

Postby spongemonkey » Thu Jun 21, 2007 1:17 am

I am a life-long PC guy myself, but am now into my first full year as a MacBook Pro owner.And I do really like this machine... and honestly, I mainly use it to run Modul8.
However, being able to install XP on it was a HUGE selling point for me.
Now I run After Effects on the XP side, and VJ with Modul8 on the OS X side.

That being said, I am fine with Modul8 only being an OSX app.
However, if I could run it on a PC, well then I would most likely be VJing with my laptop AND a PC, both running M8.
spongemonkey
Member
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 10:41 am

Postby cal6n » Sat Jul 14, 2007 10:30 pm

Threeza wrote:
*snip*

And it is possible to replicate core image - a plugin to pc gfx card drivers, independent piece of software...


Well why don't you just nip off and write your little plug-in then. Come back when you've finished, OK?

:lol:
User avatar
cal6n
activ8 member
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 3:39 pm
Location: Brighton, UK

will it run on a hakintosh?

Postby 1000errors » Sun Mar 21, 2010 3:13 pm

Hi, i wanted to know if the software will run on a high end dell laptop running a hacked osx?
1000errors
Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 3:05 pm

Postby Decart » Wed Apr 07, 2010 5:49 pm

Hi. I guess it's a bit of an offtopic here, but i've tried a demo on my hackintosh and it works... Just that hackintosh is bull**** comparing to a legit OS X. My hackintosh couldn't output to an external monitor/beamer.. Maybe you'll get lucky.. Who knows..
Decart
Junior Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 5:31 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Previous

Return to Modul8 FAQ

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest