Soft Edge Blending / Input Question
    gmint
    ultim8 member

Soft Edge Blending / Input Question

by gmint » Tue Jan 02, 2018 11:40 pm

I feel kind of silly asking this question since I've been using Modul8 for many, many years and MadMapper for quite a few as well, but here it goes...

My setup is generally this: Modul8 (Syphon) --> MadMapper --> 2x Projectors --> 1 large video screen

In that setup, I'm using MadMapper to do soft edge blending. This works great, however, here's where my issue is...

As MadMapper has become more capable, I've found myself wanting to do some of the things that I used to do in Modul8 in MadMapper instead. Primarily this is because of speed, but there are also a few things that I'd rather do in MM for various reasons. The problem that I have is that I can't seem to find a convenient way to effectively use soft edge blending in MadMapper when the size of my input media changes.

For example, let's say that my Modul8 input is setup to deliver an input which has an 8/3 aspect ratio (the size of my screen). I setup my soft edge blend for that size, but then when I want to use a 16/9 source in MadMapper, I have to go through and setup the soft edge blending again. And if I want to use layers in MadMapper... well that's a complete no-go.

Maybe the answer to this is that it's just not really workable in MadMapper. If that's not the case, I'd certainly appreciate any insight into this!
    DJ G Mint

www.MidwestDJs.com • [url=https://]www.minidj.com[/url]
  • mad-matt
    garageCube team

Re: Soft Edge Blending / Input Question

by mad-matt » Thu Jan 04, 2018 11:20 am

The soft-edge will still work whatever the aspect ratio of your media is. The problem is not soft-edge related (except if there's something I have not understood). I suppose you have two quad surfaces in MadMapper and you just change media on those, correct ?