Page 1 of 1

Multiple FX

Posted: Tue Mar 19, 2019 12:08 pm
by leevilehtinen
Quick short question. Sorry if it's been discussed before...

Can I assign more than one FX on a surface? Seems like selecting new FX type disables the earlier one.

Thanks!

Re: Multiple FX

Posted: Wed Mar 20, 2019 7:50 pm
by franz
you cannot chain FX.
It was a design descision in order to maintain overall performance.

Re: Multiple FX

Posted: Thu Mar 21, 2019 10:50 am
by leevilehtinen
Thanks for your reply. It would be nice to have a contrast, brightness & saturation as a separate from FX, because most of the time a little tweak is necessary in location. IMO they are lot more usefull than RGB sliders that are at the moment separate from FX. I'll write a suggestion post separately from this to the suggestion forum.

Re: Multiple FX

Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2020 3:53 pm
by samulj
Thanks for your reply. It would be nice to have a contrast, brightness & saturation as a separate from FX, because most of the time a little tweak is necessary in location. IMO they are lot more usefull than RGB sliders that are at the moment separate from FX. I'll write a suggestion post separately from this to the suggestion forum.
Same thoughts here exactly.

Re: Multiple FX

Posted: Sun Oct 11, 2020 6:20 am
by jasonbeyers
Related: I've added a wishlist item for chainable FX: https://forum.garagecube.com/viewtopic.php?f=29&t=35263

I feel that high-performance hardware (including GPU) can handle complex processing chains with other tools like Touchdesigner and it would be better to allow multi FX in Madmapper, and rely on the end user to decide what is too much for their system. If folks are using other tools to do this alongside Madmapper (say, with syphon/spout), they are taking the performance hit anyways.

For reference, I regularly use 5-6 stages within Madmapper using internal syphon routing, each with a filter-style shader effect, using a 2018 Macbook Pro and a Radeon VII eGPU. Having multiple FX applied to a single surface would accomplish the same thing but with much less effort to set up :)

Re: Multiple FX

Posted: Wed Oct 14, 2020 2:37 pm
by franz
an fx stack is something we want for a longtime.
meanwhile, have you tryied the "Multi FX" already ? in mm 4.0 ?