Multiple GPU's
  • twistedpixel
    junior Member
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2019 12:29 am

    Multiple GPU's

    by twistedpixel » Wed Oct 30, 2019 1:16 am

    HI there,

    Just wondering with multiple GPU's in a system does Mad Mapper use the video memory from the main GPU for all outputs?
    For example, if I use a Nvidia 16GB Quadro P5000 as my main GPU can I add the less expensive P2000's to increase outputs (and sync them using the Quadro Sync 2 board) and the P5000 will be effectively driving everything?

    Thanks!
  • mad-matt
    garageCube team
    Posts: 875
    Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 5:50 pm

    Re: Multiple GPU's

    by mad-matt » Sun Nov 03, 2019 11:02 pm

    Hi,
    Actually MadMapper will only use the GPU attached to the screen that is set as "Main Display" in Windows display preferences. So put your main display on the good card (as the warning says).
    Cheers
  • twistedpixel
    junior Member
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2019 12:29 am

    Re: Multiple GPU's

    by twistedpixel » Mon Nov 04, 2019 4:20 am

    Perfect, Thanks!
  • tontechnik
    junior Member
    Posts: 5
    Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2019 11:44 am
    Location: Bremerhaven

    Re: Multiple GPU's

    by tontechnik » Thu Nov 28, 2019 10:12 pm

    Hi,
    Actually MadMapper will only use the GPU attached to the screen that is set as "Main Display" in Windows display preferences. So put your main display on the good card (as the warning says).
    Cheers
    Actually? Do you hopefully plan to get a choice of which GPUs Madmapper will be able to use? That would be great because I want to use my less powerful internal Intel 630 GPU for Monitor/Primary Display and the more powerful GTX 1080 Ti Outputs for my projectors...
  • franz
    madMapper master
    Posts: 795
    Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 7:05 pm
    Location: Paris, France
    Contact:

    Re: Multiple GPU's

    by franz » Fri Nov 29, 2019 9:53 am

    there's no proper way to use 2 gpu in madmapper at the same time:
    all the previews within the application are opengl view and will get rendered by your main gpu,
    but by one and only.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests