Stopping Cues
  • 240480i
    junior Member
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2020 5:52 pm

    Stopping Cues

    by 240480i » Wed Mar 04, 2020 6:00 pm

    Hi,

    I've been reading, searching, watching tutorials on cues and scenes for the past couple of days in search for an answer. I am controlling cues via midi from ableton on the same computer (works without issue).

    What I can't seem to figure out is how to stop a cue. Neither in MM or elsewhere. I am running 3.7.5 on MacOS 10.13

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks
  • mad-matt
    garageCube team
    Posts: 971
    Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 5:50 pm

    Re: Stopping Cues

    by mad-matt » Wed Mar 04, 2020 11:10 pm

    What do you mean by stop the cue ? You can the surfaces referenced in this cue to stop ? Or the movies ?
    A cue can contain only the red value of a surface for instance. What would mean stopping this cue ?
    Do you mean stopping the cue "transition" ? Or maybe "pausing" the transition ?
    Could you tell us about your use case ?
  • 240480i
    junior Member
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2020 5:52 pm

    Re: Stopping Cues

    by 240480i » Thu Mar 05, 2020 6:19 am

    Lets call it a scene then. The scene or cue is running a material that is triggered by midi. The problem is that the scene/cue stays active even when the midi trigger is no longer active. In my experience with other software when a triggering is no longer active the cue/scene stops running.

    In the documentations it shows how to start a scene/cue, but there is no section on stopping a scene/cue.
    Scenes & Cues can be start by clicking the “play” button on it, or by clicking a cue grid column button. You can also use the “Next Column” button to trigger all cues in the next column, or the “Auto Play” mode for automation. The last option is to use the “Cue Scheduler” module that will be presenter later.
    Does that make sense?
  • mad-matt
    garageCube team
    Posts: 971
    Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 5:50 pm

    Re: Stopping Cues

    by mad-matt » Fri Mar 06, 2020 11:26 am

    You didn't reply to the question: what do you mean by stopping a scene ? Would you like all surfaces to become black when releasing a MIDI button for instance ?

    If that is your situation, just make a surface group with all surfaces you want in this scene, and instead of a mapping your MIDI control to a cue bank scene, map it to the surface group opacity. You can then edit you MIDI control and add a filter "Average" to get a smooth transition.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests