First impression and questions.
  • User avatar
    david
    garageCube team
    Posts: 217
    Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 1:14 am
    Location: Antibes, France

    by david » Mon May 30, 2011 8:49 am

    Andreuu,

    this invert "problem" is a "known" bug in Modul8.

    The workaround is to use, in MadMapper, a different blend mode than the default "Over" :
    - ignore alpha
    - over premultiplied

    Regards.
    David * GarageCUBE team * Modul8 developer
  • filmriss
    junior Member
    Posts: 1
    Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2010 1:44 pm

    by filmriss » Mon May 30, 2011 4:55 pm

    deepvisual wrote:ah - you draw a mask with the + and edit it...


    I can draw a mask using the + in the output screen, but how do I actually map a corresponding part of the input window to this custom mask?
  • eduzal
    junior Member
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:19 pm

    sources

    by eduzal » Mon May 30, 2011 6:48 pm

    hi guys

    1.
    i'm missing the possibility to use more than one image source for projection. i mean what we can see in this post
    http://www.modul8.us/?p=474
    we have what seems to be different sources for each of the surfaces. not just pieces of the one original.
    i mean, it would be nice to have the possibility to set different sources for each surface, not the same for every surface.

    2. we could have a snap in the preview output, in order to make it easier for the setup of multiple planes.

    anyway, it is an awesome work.

    regards
    eduzal
  • User avatar
    deepvisual
    master
    Posts: 402
    Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 10:54 am
    Location: London UK
    Contact:

    by deepvisual » Mon May 30, 2011 8:43 pm

    Image

    surely you just output an image like this from M8 then send each bit to whatever quad you want..
  • monsho
    member
    Posts: 25
    Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 4:39 pm

    by monsho » Mon May 30, 2011 9:15 pm

    Played around with it for a day or so and have to say its looking really good and stable!

    I was hoping for bezier / cruved mapping but I think I can get round 90% of the times when I thought I'd need it by using lots of points of the mesh mapping.

    Straight forward to use, seems really stable, great playback - well done guys!
  • eduzal
    junior Member
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:19 pm

    by eduzal » Mon May 30, 2011 9:55 pm

    dear deepvisual. there's always a way. but i was asking for other kind of solution than:

    1. creating an movie file that's a video mosaic.
    2. creating other layers with different media on modul8

    i also corroborate the masking question. i could do a black mask and move it around so i can mask areas that i don't want to have any projection, but how can it be done in order to put content in a polygon that's not a quad or a triangle?

    tks
  • User avatar
    deepvisual
    master
    Posts: 402
    Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 10:54 am
    Location: London UK
    Contact:

    by deepvisual » Tue May 31, 2011 10:19 am

    No circles??
    That is indeed a great shame..
  • User avatar
    boris
    garageCube team
    Posts: 910
    Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:36 am
    Location: Geneva
    Contact:

    by boris » Mon Jun 06, 2011 11:35 pm

    deepvisual wrote:No circles??
    That is indeed a great shame..


    Yes, I agree, the circle will be come very soon in a free update.
    Boris * garageCube team
  • User avatar
    boris
    garageCube team
    Posts: 910
    Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:36 am
    Location: Geneva
    Contact:

    by boris » Mon Jun 06, 2011 11:41 pm

    The spacial scanner is actually compatible with the 450d 500d and 550d.
    But we are woking on... And I hope it will be fixed soon.


    Matt Starr wrote:Right now I'm using the demo mode and tried using the spacial scanner with my 5D. Once I capture the image, where do I go from there? I don't see any options to save the image.

    Thanks,

    Mat Starr
    Boris * garageCube team
  • Timcode
    junior Member
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 5:32 am
    Location: Brooklyn, NY

    Fine-Tuning

    by Timcode » Sat Jun 11, 2011 5:48 am

    Is there a way to type in the pixel dimensions of a quad, and/or toggle-link/gang the aspect ratio of the source and output? For example, if I want to slice an image into 4 columns, I'd love to be precise, and also have the output match the source exactly to begin with... and then I can unlink the output and start moving the planes around. Along the same lines, if I've made a quad into some strange shape and then want to square it up again, can I do that?
  • User avatar
    deepvisual
    master
    Posts: 402
    Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 10:54 am
    Location: London UK
    Contact:

    by deepvisual » Sat Jun 11, 2011 8:48 am

    I think the only way to do this, is to make a template in photoshop to work to. I doesn't appear to be built in to MM
  • Timcode
    junior Member
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 5:32 am
    Location: Brooklyn, NY

    by Timcode » Sat Jun 11, 2011 5:35 pm

    That works -- I was thinking that it might be easier for the computer if the surface was perfectly square when possible, but I guess MM's awesome enough so that doesn't matter.

    One more basic question: what's that text input window / menu at the top right, next to Object Isolation?

    Thanks!
  • User avatar
    sigmasix
    master
    Posts: 1223
    Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:12 pm
    Location: gva | switzerland
    Contact:

    by sigmasix » Sat Jun 11, 2011 7:03 pm

    it's a tool to save selections. Like groups in illustrator. You select some objects, write a name in the textfield and hit enter. You can select some other objects, write a new name and hit enter. When you click on the down arrow you will have your two names and if you select one it will select what you had selected when you save it earlier.
  • User avatar
    gnoma
    super8 member
    Posts: 127
    Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 2:10 pm
    Location: spain
    Contact:

    mi first impressions

    by gnoma » Mon Jun 20, 2011 1:44 pm

    my first impressions are:

    extremely easy to use.
    stability
    nice interface
    Spacial Scanner, very useful.

    I personally need:
    Circle Surfaces
    Bezier Surfaces free
    Correction Barrel distortion lens.
    Numerical control of position / rotation and nodes, for greater accuracy.
    auto snap quads
    ratio presets

    I know, asking a lot! :-)
  • ilan

    by ilan » Mon Jun 20, 2011 2:17 pm

    The majority of items on this list are being addressed in a future release.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests