Keyboard or Midi control of Preset selection?
  • User avatar
    lotech
    ultim8 member
    Posts: 228
    Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 1:26 am
    Location: Auckland, NZ
    Contact:

    Keyboard or Midi control of Preset selection?

    by lotech » Wed Feb 08, 2012 6:40 am

    Can we do this? Am I completely missing this?
  • franz
    madMapper master
    Posts: 821
    Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 7:05 pm
    Location: Paris, France
    Contact:

    Re: Keyboard or Midi control of Preset selection?

    by franz » Wed Feb 08, 2012 9:01 pm

    midi should come in a future update - it is just not ready yet.
  • scaryxpuppy
    activ8 member
    Posts: 85
    Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 11:13 am

    Re: Keyboard or Midi control of Preset selection?

    by scaryxpuppy » Sun Feb 19, 2012 8:13 pm

    Cool - In order of preference for PRESET CONTROL :

    Low - MIDI
    Middle - OSC
    High - KEYSTROKE

    Fingers crossed

    PHIL
  • User avatar
    david
    garageCube team
    Posts: 217
    Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 1:14 am
    Location: Antibes, France

    Re: Keyboard or Midi control of Preset selection?

    by david » Mon Feb 20, 2012 8:16 pm

    Hi scaryxpuppy,

    if you want to preview what Midi control of MadMapper will probably look like.

    - quit MadMapper
    - open Terminal application
    - type

    Code: Select all

    defaults write com.garagecube.madmapper midirouterEnabled 1

    - restart MadMapper, you should now have an "Edit | Midi Mapping..." menu

    Regards.
    David * GarageCUBE team * Modul8 developer
  • scaryxpuppy
    activ8 member
    Posts: 85
    Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 11:13 am

    Re: Keyboard or Midi control of Preset selection?

    by scaryxpuppy » Mon Feb 20, 2012 8:19 pm

    Many thanks - and perfect timing for a show this evening..... (hmm... maybe i'll wait 'til the morning !)

    Thanks again though

    PHIL
  • scaryxpuppy
    activ8 member
    Posts: 85
    Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 11:13 am

    Re: Keyboard or Midi control of Preset selection?

    by scaryxpuppy » Mon Feb 20, 2012 8:29 pm

    (I assume this is a non-working layout?)

    ......any timescales on ver.1.2?

    Regards

    PHIL
  • User avatar
    david
    garageCube team
    Posts: 217
    Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 1:14 am
    Location: Antibes, France

    Re: Keyboard or Midi control of Preset selection?

    by david » Mon Feb 20, 2012 8:36 pm

    What do you mean by non-working ??

    This is perfectly working ... I tested it using a Korg NanoKontrol.

    Perhaps some Target/Property will be added/removed, the way Midi messages are interpreted will be changed.

    But this version should be fully functioning... however we do not support it.
    David * GarageCUBE team * Modul8 developer
  • scaryxpuppy
    activ8 member
    Posts: 85
    Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 11:13 am

    Re: Keyboard or Midi control of Preset selection?

    by scaryxpuppy » Mon Feb 20, 2012 8:39 pm

    Hmm... Just can't seem to get OSCulator in, but will keep on fiddling !!!

    Great function to add - congrats to all

    PHIL
  • User avatar
    david
    garageCube team
    Posts: 217
    Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 1:14 am
    Location: Antibes, France

    Re: Keyboard or Midi control of Preset selection?

    by david » Mon Feb 20, 2012 8:48 pm

    Just tested with OSCulator and it works

      1) open Edit | Midi Mapping...
      2) click the Add button in the lower left of the dialog
      3) choose a Target/Property
      4) click Learn
      5) send an OSC mapped to Midi command, MadMapper should update : Channel, Type, Note/Command

    you could also enter manually the Channel, Type, Note/Command in case of other Midi devices are sending commands continuously that renders the learn mode unusable.

    PS: Only ControlChange and Note could be used ... other Midi messages are ignored
    David * GarageCUBE team * Modul8 developer
  • scaryxpuppy
    activ8 member
    Posts: 85
    Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 11:13 am

    Re: Keyboard or Midi control of Preset selection?

    by scaryxpuppy » Mon Feb 20, 2012 8:55 pm

    Cool - many thanks - !!!

    PHIL
  • scaryxpuppy
    activ8 member
    Posts: 85
    Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 11:13 am

    Re: Keyboard or Midi control of Preset selection?

    by scaryxpuppy » Mon Feb 20, 2012 9:15 pm

    Brilliant - was just my problem with a fader sending out 0-127 for presets, and my fat fingers not being able to select manually !

    Works a treat though !

    PHIL
  • scaryxpuppy
    activ8 member
    Posts: 85
    Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 11:13 am

    Re: Keyboard or Midi control of Preset selection?

    by scaryxpuppy » Mon Feb 20, 2012 9:22 pm

    Is there a MIDI PROTOCOL page you have??

    I can get CC's to work on faders, but would love to be able to trigger from BUTTONS directly?

    Any help, gladly appreciated

    PHIL
  • User avatar
    david
    garageCube team
    Posts: 217
    Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 1:14 am
    Location: Antibes, France

    Re: Keyboard or Midi control of Preset selection?

    by david » Mon Feb 20, 2012 10:08 pm

    You could trigger from button, but they should be configured as toggle if you want to toggle otherwise the "set" will be transient.

    What values are your buttons sending ? I should work as well with Note or ControlChange. But for example a Note will send a NoteOn on press interpreted as On, then a NoteOff that will be interpreted as an Off.
    With the Nano Kontrol (and any midi device), you can configure how buttons are working. So just configure your device to get the expected result.

    The "protocol" is the same as for DMX, properties are bool or float

    http://forum.garagecube.com/viewtopic.php?f=20&t=8029

    If you are talking about triggering media or preset directly, this is something we are thinking of.

    Regards
    David * GarageCUBE team * Modul8 developer
  • scaryxpuppy
    activ8 member
    Posts: 85
    Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 11:13 am

    Re: Keyboard or Midi control of Preset selection?

    by scaryxpuppy » Mon Feb 20, 2012 10:17 pm

    Im using TOUCHOSC on my IPAD linked to OSCULATOR

    What I would like to do is have 10 buttons setup that can be configured to trigger PRESET 1 - 10

    As i say, it works great with a FADER asigned to a CC but this has values 1-127 so trying to get a precise number is quite difficult

    If you are talking about triggering media or preset directly, this is something we are thinking of.


    This would be ideal

    Many thanks again for your time on this - it really is appreciated

    PHIL
  • User avatar
    sigmasix
    master
    Posts: 1223
    Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:12 pm
    Location: gva | switzerland
    Contact:

    Re: Keyboard or Midi control of Preset selection?

    by sigmasix » Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:52 am

    just in case, touch osc can output midi. Maybe you can achieve what you want without using osculator…

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests