Page 1 of 1

how to control our sk6812 led strip by madmapper

Posted: Wed Sep 16, 2015 11:26 am
by alanwangwang
Now i have some SK6812 led strip they are using sk6812 rgb led , sk6812wwa led , sk6812rgbw led to be the light source , now i want to control those
led strip by madmapper , if there a way that can support them by madmapper without SPI to dmx decoder? thanks

Re: how to control our sk6812 led strip by madmapper

Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2015 9:58 am
by sigmasix
madmapper seems to be able to support direct spi, you'll need an usb->spi thing I suppose. But I don't know the specs of such hardware. Franz?

Re: how to control our sk6812 led strip by madmapper

Posted: Fri Sep 18, 2015 4:15 pm
by franz
you can do this with an arduino -tweensy- and mad mapper.
We'll post a tutorial soon

Re: how to control our sk6812 led strip by madmapper

Posted: Mon Sep 21, 2015 4:18 pm
by sigmasix
So then I suppose this one should work also no?

https://www.sparkfun.com/products/9235

Re: how to control our sk6812 led strip by madmapper

Posted: Thu Sep 24, 2015 11:49 am
by franz
https://www.pjrc.com/store/teensy32_pins.html

this will work with FastLED library and MadMapper 2.1

Re: how to control our sk6812 led strip by madmapper

Posted: Thu Sep 24, 2015 4:32 pm
by mad-matt
Hi!
I wrote a tutorial. All files are in the ZIP attached. You'll need MadMapper 2.1.
I suppose you have everything you need. Small demo: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=er_PZZw ... e=youtu.be
Here I use 7 m APA102 white strip 60 LEDs/meter. So 420 LEDs, each 3 channels, so I'm using 420x3 = 1260 channels. I need 3 ArtNet universes and send it to one strip line through a Teensy 3.1.
Hope it's precise enough.
Enjoy!
Matthieu - MM team

Re: how to control our sk6812 led strip by madmapper

Posted: Fri Nov 20, 2015 4:22 pm
by hanz_m
is there a scheme about the wiring? I am totally new, but would like to try this as an exercise

thank you

Re: how to control our sk6812 led strip by madmapper

Posted: Mon Nov 23, 2015 11:58 am
by mad-matt
Attached is a diagram about connection a 4 wires strip. For a 3 wires, it's the same except you remove the clock wire.

Re: how to control our sk6812 led strip by madmapper

Posted: Wed Dec 09, 2015 6:04 pm
by mad-matt
I did more tests with the teensy and MM 2.2.2 yesterday. I connected, to a single teensy output, 12 strips of 144 pixels, so 1728 pixels, 5184 bytes, using 11 universes, and I still had about 50 FPS...
The longer work is to reinject the power each 2 strips... Using strips with 60 pixels / meter, I might have to reinject power each 4 meters.

Re: how to control our sk6812 led strip by madmapper

Posted: Fri Dec 11, 2015 6:17 pm
by sigmasix
With APA102 60led/m I would recommand to reinject the power every 2.5 meters. If you output full white, it will be very yellowish at 5 meters

Re: how to control our sk6812 led strip by madmapper

Posted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 1:28 pm
by yntrimd
Hello~

I am using SK6812 with different setting. I have some questions but also I thought some of my test result might be useful for some people.

The price of LED is different depending on region, but I found that - in my country - SK6812 LED is cheeper and efficient than WS2812 when you need to use lots of LEDs. The major difference between WS2812 and SK6812 LED is that the former sends 3 channel data which is RGB, and the latter sends 4 channel including W data. This leads to different colour of white and its brightness.
Image
WS2812(L), SK6812 LED(R)

I am working on a LED structure using tones of LEDs. I am using Advatek's PixLite16 and PixLite 16 Long Range, as their feedback seems better than Holiday Coro's AlphaPix 16 v2. You can find out more information about LED drivers comparison from the following link. (Thanks Nutcracker!) http://nutcracker123.com/nutcracker/rgb_controllers/
I found this board useful since I don't need other DMX512 or Art-net interfaces such as Enttec ODE. I can directly plug it into my computer with cat5e cable. Also it is fairly easy to set ip address.
Image
Image

Advatek recently updated their firmware to support WS2812 but it seems that the signal is more stable on Windows computer. I set up MadLight to receive 4 channel data(RGBW or GRBW) by using fixture editor. However, all R, G, B, W lit up for white colour. I cannot turn on only white. I am not sure this is the board issue or Madmapper. SK6812 works perfectly fine with Madrix on Widows computer so I am suspecting that either the board sends signal in SK6812 protocol is not stable on Mac or MadMapper is not receiving or interpreting the data correctly, or I am not doing the right setting in MadLight.
Image
Image

Is there anyone knows how to lit only white with SK6812?

Re: how to control our sk6812 led strip by madmapper

Posted: Tue Mar 01, 2016 9:33 pm
by mad-matt
Hi,
Your fixture is placed on a white picture, that's why it's white. Use this image as input for instance: http://www.had2know.com/images/hsv-color-model.png (just got it on google images) and move the fixture, you'll see the color changing. Generally we use a movie or the output of a video compositing software like Modul8 (via Syphon) as a source to drive LEDs.
You can also change the color of the pixels using the red/green/blue sliders in the fixture parameters.
Let me know if you solved your problem
Regards,
Matthieu - MM team

Re: how to control our sk6812 led strip by madmapper

Posted: Wed Mar 09, 2016 4:16 pm
by franz
to send only white, make a special fixture:
- Pixel Type: Custom
- Pixel Size : 4
- Channel 1 :unused
- Channel 2: unused
- Channel 3: unused
- Channel 4: L (or W)

Re: how to control our sk6812 led strip by madmapper

Posted: Mon Apr 02, 2018 11:05 am
by daisy1988
You can directly connect it to computer,don't need dmx decoder,sk6812 led strip has 3 channels and 4 channels ,sk6812 rgb,wwa is 3 channels,rgbw is 4 channels.