HELP WITH MADLIGHT
  • innerrevolt

HELP WITH MADLIGHT

by innerrevolt » Sat Feb 11, 2017 11:02 pm

Hi everyone!

Newbie here. I'm starting with Madlight so I will probably have a lot of stupid questions, so before we start. Thank you for your patience.

I am trying to set up an installation. I have for now 4 Standard RGB 5050 LED Strip Light, 30/m, 10mm wide, connected to 4 different decoders. These Decoders are daisy chained via DMX. They all are controlled by an Enttec ODE through Madmpapper. Everything works and reads perfectly except one simple thing. On Materials, if I choose the Line Patterns default, Lights follow left to right accordingly, or if I flip them can go right to left. But if I rotate them and make them go up and down the LEDs don't follow...WHY? Left to right is fine but not up and down?

I've gone to the Edit tab on the Fixtures Editor within Madlight and set up the Vertical and Horizontal Pixels. But it doesn't work Horizontally, it just turns on 1 strip al together or if I increase the number, it does the same thing as the vertical (left to right). Whats going on?

1. First, I don't think I understand how the fixtures work.

2. Could someone help me move the LEDs up and down?

Thank you so much!

R.
  • mad-matt
    garageCube team

Re: HELP WITH MADLIGHT

by mad-matt » Mon Feb 13, 2017 10:33 am

When you create a DMX fixture in MadMapper, you have to select a fixture definition. By default MM assigns "Generic - Pixel RGB" which corresponds to a 1x1 single RGB pixel device. If you're working with strips and you have a line of 100 pixels RGB, you should create a custom fixture definition. Then only one DMX fixture will control those 100 pixels. If you have 100 lines like this, you put then on top of each other, then you have a 100x100 pixel grid. Then using a material doing up and down will work.
    For more details: http://www.madmapper.com/controlling-le ... madmapper/
  • innerrevolt

by innerrevolt » Tue Feb 14, 2017 7:47 am

Hi Mad-Matt,