"Create lines from visible edges" issue
  • Kalma Kalma
    junior Member
    Posts: 4
    Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 1:38 pm

    "Create lines from visible edges" issue

    by Kalma Kalma » Mon Mar 20, 2017 1:47 pm

    Hi,

    I have a question: I import an .obj object into madmapper, resize it and move it with x, y and z.

    When I try to Create lines from visible edges, it depends the position of the object that madmapper creates all the lines of just some of them. Why is that? Someone had the same issue? How can i solve it? I don´t wanna be limited for that and would like to choose any position.

    (using madmapper 2.5)

    Thanks a lot in advance !
    Kalma
  • mad-matt
    garageCube team
    Posts: 368
    Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 5:50 pm

    Re: "Create lines from visible edges" issue

    by mad-matt » Mon Mar 20, 2017 3:06 pm

    Hi,
    I don't understand the question. Normally you calibrate your 3D model to map the 3D object with your projector. Then you can create lines and it will fit your object.
    Maybe you can clarify your situation.
    Cheers
  • Kalma Kalma
    junior Member
    Posts: 4
    Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 1:38 pm

    Re: "Create lines from visible edges" issue

    by Kalma Kalma » Mon Mar 20, 2017 3:53 pm

    Hi,

    no , i don´t calibrate my object cause in my case i do tape installation. My workflow is:
    - I import a .obj file into madmapper
    - I find the position i need/want for my installation.
    - I tape the wall according with the lines that i get in "Create lines from visible edges"

    my question is that sometimes and depending on the position of the object, the lines are incomplete (just some of them appear)

    I hope it´s more clear now ;)
    thanks for your time
  • mad-matt
    garageCube team
    Posts: 368
    Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 5:50 pm

    Re: "Create lines from visible edges" issue

    by mad-matt » Tue Mar 21, 2017 11:55 am

    Strange. There's an algorithm to detect visible lines. Your 3D object must have some faces hiding part of the surface. You may have to check the 3d model.
  • Kalma Kalma
    junior Member
    Posts: 4
    Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 1:38 pm

    Re: "Create lines from visible edges" issue

    by Kalma Kalma » Tue Mar 21, 2017 9:44 pm

    mmmm ok, I´ll check it. The strange thing is that if I place the object frontal there´s no problem but if I rotate the x axis (for example) some of the lines are missing. But yes, maybe it´s a problem in the 3D model . Thanks !

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests