Tips for improving playback speed? Struggling!
  • jane5984

Tips for improving playback speed? Struggling!

by jane5984 » Tue May 30, 2017 6:36 pm

Hi

I'm a newbie to this forum but I've been using MadMapper for a while for artwork projections..

I'm using MadMapper 2.2.4 on a Mac Mini to run 3 projectors.

I project onto a 3D printed object so need to do a bit wth the mesh function (2 x 3 grid) to make final tweaks to the surface mapping.

To see what I'm doing

https://vimeo.com/179540389

This all worked out great in the past, shown the work a few times using a 180MB video file 2160*1280 (so it can be split across 3 projectors that are each 128*720). The project is an artwork, I just got the kit back from an exhibit and did my set up sing some still images I use for calibrating. All good. Then I loaded a new video (4GB). Playback is fine but I get the spinning wheel of death and cannot edit anything once I load the video and click on "Show Info" to Enable Preview.

So, I reloaded the previous, smaller, video. Same problem. I also tried with a new version of the 2nd video, saving it as a smaller file (180MB) using H264 Codec (the HAP Codec made the file 8GB ). Specifically it is when I click on "Show Info" to Enable Preview that it all goes horribly wrong. I have to Force Quit to get out. The video is running OK through the projectors, I just can't edit (manage surfaces).

I was wondering if there's a way of changing the preview settings? Changing them so they do not slow everything down?

I cannot afford to buy a better playback machine right now which I guess would solve this with the set up as it is.

I'm reluctant to upgrade to newer version of MadMapper in case the whole thing stops working (another exhibition is next week).

Any advice gratefully received

Jane
    Attachments
    macminispec.jpg
    macminispec.jpg (181.12 KiB) Viewed 4195 times
  • mad-matt
    garageCube team

Re: Tips for improving playback speed? Struggling!