Is this scenario possible using cues/What am I missing
  • koffeypot
    junior Member
    Posts: 4
    Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 10:44 pm

    Is this scenario possible using cues/What am I missing

    by koffeypot » Sat Sep 15, 2018 2:27 am

    I'm building an interactive wall. The wall has 6 interactive areas that are triggered by different midi controls. When an area is "idle" it will show a looping video. When the area is triggered, it will show an "active" video until it reaches the end, And then the "idle" video for that area will start looping again.

    The way I am trying to solution this, is the following: I have 2 overlapping quads for each area. 1 is mapped to the idle video which is always looping. The other quad is mapped to the active video which is set to play until the end. I have cues setup for the "active" quad to toggle the visibility on, and restart the video. This is functioning properly. The issue I am running into is, the next step in the cue is supposed to toggle the visibility of the "active" quad to off(after the active video has reached the end). It doesn't, it just reaches the end of the active video and stops there.

    Is there a simpler way to do this? Is there something wrong with the way I am setting this up? Do I need to use a cue scheduler for each of these areas(having troubles with this type of setup as well)?

    I would really appreciate the help, thanks!
  • mad-matt
    garageCube team
    Posts: 590
    Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 5:50 pm

    Re: Is this scenario possible using cues/What am I missing

    by mad-matt » Mon Sep 17, 2018 12:02 pm

    Ideally we should add a movie playback mode "Play once and hide" (actually we have "play once and freeze on last frame"). It's in the whish list.
    But since we don't have yet, we made a small CueSequencer module to solve a similar situation. It solves many other situations. You can decompress the attached ZIP file and movie the folder into
    ~/Documents/MadMapper/Modules on macOS
    C:\Users\your_login\Documents\MadMapper\Modules on Windows
    Then you can assign a control to the "restart" button of the cue sequencer module.
    Let me know if it's clear
    Attachments
    Cue Sequencer.zip
    (5.17 KiB) Downloaded 69 times
  • koffeypot
    junior Member
    Posts: 4
    Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 10:44 pm

    Re: Is this scenario possible using cues/What am I missing

    by koffeypot » Mon Sep 17, 2018 9:51 pm

    Ideally we should add a movie playback mode "Play once and hide" (actually we have "play once and freeze on last frame"). It's in the whish list.
    But since we don't have yet, we made a small CueSequencer module to solve a similar situation. It solves many other situations. You can decompress the attached ZIP file and movie the folder into
    ~/Documents/MadMapper/Modules on macOS
    C:\Users\your_login\Documents\MadMapper\Modules on Windows
    Then you can assign a control to the "restart" button of the cue sequencer module.
    Let me know if it's clear
    Hi mad-matt,

    Thank you for the quick reply. I have tried implementing this the way you mentioned. If the cue sequencer start button is enabled, and I have the midi control mapped to restart, it will restart no problem. The issue is, if I don't restart, it just keeps looping through the sequence over and over. Is there a way to play the cue sequence once until the end and stop?
  • BlandSauce
    junior Member
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:35 am

    Re: Is this scenario possible using cues/What am I missing

    by BlandSauce » Wed Sep 19, 2018 7:37 am

    A potential solution that comes to mind, if you don't get the module working, is to add a couple transparent frames to the end of your video file. I don't know what all video formats support alpha, but I know Quicktime does, at least.
  • mad-matt
    garageCube team
    Posts: 590
    Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 5:50 pm

    Re: Is this scenario possible using cues/What am I missing

    by mad-matt » Fri Sep 21, 2018 1:27 pm

    The issue is, if I don't restart, it just keeps looping through the sequence over and over. Is there a way to play the cue sequence once until the end and stop?
    You can put the last cue duration to 1000000, then it will loop only if you don't restart within 11 days. Ideally we should modify the module to activate "auto-follow" or pause the sequencer until user triggers next manually...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests