Shader files variables
  • themarra

Shader files variables

by themarra » Mon Jan 27, 2020 6:01 pm

Hi, I'm new to GLSL and have been trying to implement a shader/an FS file for transforming an equirectangular projection to cube maps, but I'm still trying to understand what are the variables that madMapper uses.

1) How do I access the pixel coordinates of the Quad. In GLSL this would be fragCoord.xy but it seems that this doesn't work.

2) In what variable does madMap expect us to store for outputting the current color of the pixel?

3) Where can I see what the special functions of madMapper does? For example MM_SHADER_NORM_PIXEL() or MM_SHADER_THIS_NORM_PIXEL(). Is there a source code or complete list of the functions and what it does?
  • mad-matt
    garageCube team

Re: Shader files variables

by mad-matt » Wed Jan 29, 2020 12:23 am

1) So you want to write an FX, not a Material ? FX Editing is not officially supported but there's a folder in User Documents/MadMapper/FX/quad where to pu .FS and .VS files. But that will be changed in a future version (when we'll add official editing / sharing of FX)

MadMapper follows ISF specification. You can get the coordinate of your pixel inside the input media using "isf_FragNormCoord"
    In a FX the uniform "mm_SurfaceCoord" is a vec2 containing the position of the pixel inside the quad (in the output, not related to the position in the input media - but equal if you quad shows the entire media)

This is for instance the code of the Vertex Noise vertex shader:

Code: Select all