audio problem on madmapper 4
  • minicake
    junior Member
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2020 2:15 pm

    audio problem on madmapper 4

    by minicake » Fri Sep 11, 2020 2:52 pm

    I have a show with some audio and video cue. On previous version of madmapper audio are compressed with video. With the version 4 i trie the new audio player but after few second they are some issue with sound it's like pitch and distortion appear.
    The files seems good (no problem with other audio player). The audio file are wav 48 kHz 16-bit.
    I'm on macos high sierra with a late 2013 macbook pro, i7, 16go of ram and geforce gt 750m
    Are there any known concerns ?
  • Benoit
    ultim8 member
    Posts: 209
    Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 6:42 pm
    Location: Geneva

    Re: audio problem on madmapper 4

    by Benoit » Fri Sep 11, 2020 5:46 pm

    this is not a known issue,

    please contact the support via support@garagecube.com

    until then you can always use the old way by attaching audio to a movie file of course
  • mad-matt
    garageCube team
    Posts: 1113
    Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 5:50 pm

    Re: audio problem on madmapper 4

    by mad-matt » Mon Sep 14, 2020 11:11 am

    You may have to increase audio output buffer size. How is it actually set (MadMapper Preferences / Audio / Buffer Size) ?
  • minicake
    junior Member
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2020 2:15 pm

    Re: audio problem on madmapper 4

    by minicake » Tue Sep 22, 2020 12:39 pm

    Thanks for the reply. Unfortunately i don't have the laptop with me for a few week. So il will test you're solution when i get it again.
    But I have already noticed this problem doesn't appear on my personal computer with windows 10.
  • annacederquist
    junior Member
    Posts: 4
    Joined: Thu May 07, 2020 8:36 am

    Re: audio problem on madmapper 4

    by annacederquist » Mon Oct 12, 2020 11:07 am

    Hi yes I also have these glitch sounds. Didn´t work with increased buffer size. Any other solutions? /Anna
  • mad-matt
    garageCube team
    Posts: 1113
    Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 5:50 pm

    Re: audio problem on madmapper 4

    by mad-matt » Wed Oct 14, 2020 9:37 am

    Indeed there seem to be an issue with WAV files after the first loop or after seeking. We're investigating.
    Actually please use mp3, ogg or another codec.
    Thanks for reporting. Hope we'll solve it in 4.0.2.
  • mad-matt
    garageCube team
    Posts: 1113
    Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 5:50 pm

    Re: audio problem on madmapper 4

    by mad-matt » Wed Oct 14, 2020 10:49 am

    Ok, this one has been solved. Happenning with WAV or other uncompressed audio codecs.
    4.0.2 is on its way, please use another codec inbetween.
    Thanks for reporting here !
  • tontechnik
    member
    Posts: 24
    Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2019 11:44 am
    Location: Bremerhaven

    Re: audio problem on madmapper 4

    by tontechnik » Tue Nov 10, 2020 9:05 pm

    Ok, this one has been solved. Happenning with WAV or other uncompressed audio codecs.
    4.0.2 is on its way, please use another codec inbetween.
    Thanks for reporting here !
    I have the same problem in v4.0.2 or v4.0.3 with AAC codec in MP4 Videos! Are you really sure about solving the problem with all audio codecs?
  • tontechnik
    member
    Posts: 24
    Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2019 11:44 am
    Location: Bremerhaven

    Re: audio problem on madmapper 4

    by tontechnik » Thu Nov 12, 2020 11:02 am

    Wo really can not use MM4 for Video with Audio or Audio itself within the new audio player module:
    All formats/codecs/bitrates/sampling rates/bufferings do the same: distortion/adding rumble (level based).

    Unfortunately we now have to reprogram our next theatre production in MM3 (on the same system), where audio never was a problem like that. :(
  • tontechnik
    member
    Posts: 24
    Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2019 11:44 am
    Location: Bremerhaven

    Re: audio problem on madmapper 4

    by tontechnik » Thu Nov 12, 2020 11:31 am

    All other software audio/video players work fine on our Windows 10 system (with 32GB RAM, i7, Realtek onboard sound and GeForce 1080Ti), MM 3.7.8 too! Only MM4 is buggy...
    We really hope, you can fix it soon!
  • mad-matt
    garageCube team
    Posts: 1113
    Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 5:50 pm

    Re: audio problem on madmapper 4

    by mad-matt » Mon Nov 16, 2020 1:56 am

    We'll solve it if we can reproduce. Could you send us a sample file ? (via support@garagecube.com, you can request to assign it to me, Matthieu)
  • tontechnik
    member
    Posts: 24
    Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2019 11:44 am
    Location: Bremerhaven

    Re: audio problem on madmapper 4

    by tontechnik » Wed Nov 18, 2020 9:18 am

    A sample *.mad file? Or a sample MP4 or HAP video file?
  • tontechnik
    member
    Posts: 24
    Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2019 11:44 am
    Location: Bremerhaven

    Re: audio problem on madmapper 4

    by tontechnik » Sat Feb 06, 2021 6:59 pm

    We'll solve it if we can reproduce. Could you send us a sample file ? (via support@garagecube.com, you can request to assign it to me, Matthieu)
    Thanks for fixing it in 4.0.4! Great:D
  • tontechnik
    member
    Posts: 24
    Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2019 11:44 am
    Location: Bremerhaven

    Re: audio problem on madmapper 4

    by tontechnik » Sat Feb 06, 2021 7:23 pm

    But today I have to report other audio problems (tested in all Win10 versions from 3.7.8 to 4.0.5 on 2 PCs):

    1.
    When a video is playing and its opacity is then set to 0%, then the sound is muted, even if the video is still playing. So I can't fade out the video, where the sound is still on. And no, I don't link the audio level to the video opacity.

    2.
    When I gain the video opacity from 0% to higher values or I reduce it from higher values to 0% while playing the video, then the video position is jumping for a few seconds sometimes and randomly.
  • mad-matt
    garageCube team
    Posts: 1113
    Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 5:50 pm

    Re: audio problem on madmapper 4

    by mad-matt » Mon Feb 08, 2021 6:39 pm

    Indeed I can reproduce this issue. This will be solved in MadMapper 4.0.6. Thanks for reporting.
    The fact that audio stops when opacity is zero was introduced before we could link audio to surface opacity. The idea was that we could control a set of layers opacity with MIDI faders and so have the sound stopping when layer is fully off. I'm wondering if it still make sense now. I'll check with the team what is the best approach but I think if audio is not linked to opacity, it would make sense not to stop audio track.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests