Using Art-Net over Ethernet while using Wifi
  • CaseyJScalf
    activ8 member
    Posts: 61
    Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2014 10:15 am

    Using Art-Net over Ethernet while using Wifi

    by CaseyJScalf » Thu Oct 22, 2020 6:31 am

    Hello,

    Love the Ethernet x Art-Net life in MadMapper.

    Curious what the concern may be for using Wifi (like searching the web or making this forum post) while also sending lighting data over a Ethernet?

    I am getting weird glitches and then it doesn't work - the lights that is. Internet still surfs fine.

    - Is this to be expected?

    - Is there a way to solve this?

    - Anything else to watch out for? (More than one ethernet connection, etc)

    I am on a MacBook Pro 2015 using MM 3.78. I have experienced this on other Macs but not any Windows 10 Machines.

    Thanks!
  • franz
    madMapper master
    Posts: 870
    Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 7:05 pm
    Location: Paris, France
    Contact:

    Re: Using Art-Net over Ethernet while using Wifi

    by franz » Sun Oct 25, 2020 12:10 pm

    that's not expected but it also happen to me sometimes.
    Whenever I arnet over ethernet, I tend to switch off wifi
  • mad-matt
    garageCube team
    Posts: 1036
    Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 5:50 pm

    Re: Using Art-Net over Ethernet while using Wifi

    by mad-matt » Sun Oct 25, 2020 9:38 pm

    I wasn't aware of this issue. Are you doing ArtNet unicast or broadcast ?
  • CaseyJScalf
    activ8 member
    Posts: 61
    Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2014 10:15 am

    Re: Using Art-Net over Ethernet while using Wifi

    by CaseyJScalf » Wed Oct 28, 2020 12:03 am

    Thank you for chiming in!

    I am still experiencing this issue.

    This may not sound like a problem but I have a lot of remote installations. If I can't connect to them via wifi while they operate we have a problem.

    I am using:

    Problem with MM 3.0 & MM 4.0 using both Windows & Mac OSX.

    Unicast (Checked)
    Enable Universe Synchronization (Checked)
    DMX Output Device (ArtNet)
    Interface (Ethernet 192.168.1.100)
    Maximum FPS (44)
  • mad-matt
    garageCube team
    Posts: 1036
    Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 5:50 pm

    Re: Using Art-Net over Ethernet while using Wifi

    by mad-matt » Sun Nov 01, 2020 11:35 pm

    I agree it's a problem if that doesn't work. We did many installs with remote access & ArtNet. I'll investigate this issue and get back to you.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests