Page 1 of 1

Using Art-Net over Ethernet while using Wifi

Posted: Thu Oct 22, 2020 6:31 am
by CaseyJScalf
Hello,

Love the Ethernet x Art-Net life in MadMapper.

Curious what the concern may be for using Wifi (like searching the web or making this forum post) while also sending lighting data over a Ethernet?

I am getting weird glitches and then it doesn't work - the lights that is. Internet still surfs fine.

- Is this to be expected?

- Is there a way to solve this?

- Anything else to watch out for? (More than one ethernet connection, etc)

I am on a MacBook Pro 2015 using MM 3.78. I have experienced this on other Macs but not any Windows 10 Machines.

Thanks!

Re: Using Art-Net over Ethernet while using Wifi

Posted: Sun Oct 25, 2020 12:10 pm
by franz
that's not expected but it also happen to me sometimes.
Whenever I arnet over ethernet, I tend to switch off wifi

Re: Using Art-Net over Ethernet while using Wifi

Posted: Sun Oct 25, 2020 9:38 pm
by mad-matt
I wasn't aware of this issue. Are you doing ArtNet unicast or broadcast ?

Re: Using Art-Net over Ethernet while using Wifi

Posted: Wed Oct 28, 2020 12:03 am
by CaseyJScalf
Thank you for chiming in!

I am still experiencing this issue.

This may not sound like a problem but I have a lot of remote installations. If I can't connect to them via wifi while they operate we have a problem.

I am using:

Problem with MM 3.0 & MM 4.0 using both Windows & Mac OSX.

Unicast (Checked)
Enable Universe Synchronization (Checked)
DMX Output Device (ArtNet)
Interface (Ethernet 192.168.1.100)
Maximum FPS (44)

Re: Using Art-Net over Ethernet while using Wifi

Posted: Sun Nov 01, 2020 11:35 pm
by mad-matt
I agree it's a problem if that doesn't work. We did many installs with remote access & ArtNet. I'll investigate this issue and get back to you.