Artnet framerate limit
  • Janson
    member
    Posts: 27
    Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 9:01 pm

    Artnet framerate limit

    by Janson » Sun Feb 24, 2013 9:04 pm

    Hello,

    is there a way to limit the artnet output rate to a specific value (in Hz)?
    My artnet fixtures are sensetive to high framerates (over 50Hz).

    Greets
  • franz
    madMapper master
    Posts: 620
    Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 7:05 pm
    Location: Paris, France
    Contact:

    Re: Artnet framerate limit

    by franz » Mon Feb 25, 2013 2:52 pm

    normally DMX is 40hz
    your artnet box should convert ArtNet signal to 40hz DMX signal
  • Janson
    member
    Posts: 27
    Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 9:01 pm

    Re: Artnet framerate limit

    by Janson » Thu Feb 28, 2013 6:48 pm

    No, my fixtures have direct artnet input, but madmapper has a high framerate output which fills the buffer of their network interface too fast. The processor which is an Atmel 8Bit can't process the packets so fast.

    I'm currently in contact with the developer of it. He said that all other software products have abilities to limit the framerate and are able to use artnet unicast.
  • User avatar
    NateMac
    activ8 member
    Posts: 73
    Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 5:55 pm
    Location: Chicago, IL

    Re: Artnet framerate limit

    by NateMac » Fri Mar 01, 2013 12:20 am

    Janson wrote:No, my fixtures have direct artnet input, but madmapper has a high framerate output which fills the buffer of their network interface too fast. The processor which is an Atmel 8Bit can't process the packets so fast.

    I'm currently in contact with the developer of it. He said that all other software products have abilities to limit the framerate and are able to use artnet unicast.


    Is this the Arduino project?
    -This is Nate M from the deskontrol.net forums.
  • Janson
    member
    Posts: 27
    Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 9:01 pm

    Re: Artnet framerate limit

    by Janson » Fri Mar 01, 2013 1:27 am

    Yes, it's the LED stripe artnet node.

    It works well on Arduino MEGA (because of its processing power) but causes hangs on UNO on large packet bursts. We are currently debugging the problem with the developer.
  • User avatar
    NateMac
    activ8 member
    Posts: 73
    Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 5:55 pm
    Location: Chicago, IL

    Re: Artnet framerate limit

    by NateMac » Sun Mar 03, 2013 4:57 am

    Janson wrote:Yes, it's the LED stripe artnet node.

    It works well on Arduino MEGA (because of its processing power) but causes hangs on UNO on large packet bursts. We are currently debugging the problem with the developer.


    I ran into the same issued you did with the UNO. I picked up a Mega today and will have to plug that into the strips at work on Monday. Honestly if this works, and this replaces our Enttec Open DMX Ethernet ($275) and a DMX Decoder Box ($40), that's a huge savings /per universe. $60 Mega and $22 Shield. $233 savings per universe.
  • franz
    madMapper master
    Posts: 620
    Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 7:05 pm
    Location: Paris, France
    Contact:

    Re: Artnet framerate limit

    by franz » Mon Mar 04, 2013 7:21 pm

    We are currently looking into the ArtNet framerate issue.
    Thanks for reporting this.
    Last edited by franz on Wed Mar 06, 2013 2:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
  • franz
    madMapper master
    Posts: 620
    Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 7:05 pm
    Location: Paris, France
    Contact:

    Re: Artnet framerate limit

    by franz » Wed Mar 06, 2013 2:12 pm

    MadMapper ArtNet output is capped at 40FPS.
    Using a proper ArtNet monitor application, such as the free LumiNetMonitor app. reveals that the output NEVER exceeds 40FPS.

    Since ArtNet output rate is fixed internally in the software and limited to 40Hz,
    (following the official ArtNet DMX specifications), there's no way to have higher framerates.

    Can you measure the speed on your side using LumiNetMonitor and report the FPS back here?
  • Janson
    member
    Posts: 27
    Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 9:01 pm

    Re: Artnet framerate limit

    by Janson » Mon Mar 18, 2013 6:27 pm

    Hi Franz,

    Luminet Monitor seems to measure average values. I attached a screenshot of DMX Workshop. There seem to be very high peeks.
    Attachments
    Bildschirmfoto 2013-03-08 um 13.01.27.png
    Bildschirmfoto 2013-03-08 um 13.01.27.png (56.45 KiB) Viewed 5231 times
  • franz
    madMapper master
    Posts: 620
    Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 7:05 pm
    Location: Paris, France
    Contact:

    Re: Artnet framerate limit

    by franz » Tue Mar 19, 2013 10:54 am

    the snapshot shows peaks over 500Hz, so that would be more than 500 FPS, which sounds totally weird to me.
    Having said that, we're still investigating internally.
  • Janson
    member
    Posts: 27
    Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 9:01 pm

    Re: Artnet framerate limit

    by Janson » Tue Mar 19, 2013 7:11 pm

    Yep, seems weird for mee too, I don't know what software I should trust ;) Thanks for investigating, hope to see some news soon :)
  • User avatar
    david
    garageCube team
    Posts: 217
    Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 1:14 am
    Location: Antibes, France

    Re: Artnet framerate limit

    by david » Wed Mar 20, 2013 1:51 am

    Hello Janson,

    I suspect Luminet Monitor to count all the ArtDmx packets. As MadMapper is broadcasting Art-Net. So if you are sending to 10 universes, you will get 400 packets/s. I think that's why Luminet Monitor sees these high values.

    When unicats Art-Net will be enabled in MadMapper, this will reduce the network traffic on your arduino.

    Regards
    David * GarageCUBE team * Modul8 developer
  • Janson
    member
    Posts: 27
    Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 9:01 pm

    Re: Artnet framerate limit

    by Janson » Fri Mar 22, 2013 4:44 pm

    Yes, it will reduce traffic for multiple universes, but currently I only have one.
  • Janson
    member
    Posts: 27
    Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 9:01 pm

    Re: Artnet framerate limit

    by Janson » Mon Jun 10, 2013 3:53 pm

    As a conclusion I could say that we strongly need an artnet unicast implementation. What about adding a simple preference page where you can enter the destination IP address for each universe? Sorry for asking, but I really need artnet unicast with Madmapper for project in july :|
  • birkjoa
    junior Member
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 3:41 pm

    Re: Artnet framerate limit

    by birkjoa » Fri Jun 10, 2016 5:19 pm

    Do you have an artnet framerate limit madmapper version avaible now?
    I have the problem, that my WIZ820io Ethernet Shield for teensy to control APA120 has a big overhead because of the small packages. On 10MBit it works, but just for 70 Universes in total.
    Reducing the artnet framerate would give the possibility to ran more universes on 10MBit.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest