Madmapper LED Control with KingDMX edmx1
  • studebaker

by studebaker » Thu Mar 20, 2014 3:47 am

I'm posting this to help anyone else who might be having trouble, I finally solved the problems I'd been having and thought I'd contribute to the information on the web.

I'm not an expert, I know almost nothing about artnet, dmx, lighting and networking, but I did manage to eventually get it all working.

I was trying forever to control my led strip lights via edmx1 with Madmapper, but nothing seemed to be working.

First, I'd read somewhere that 2.x.x.x or 10.x.x.x are the addresses that are used for artnet, so I ended up using a window PC to access the edmx1's firmware to change it's IP address to a 2.x.x.x range. Doing this was a bit tricky because the PC couldn't access the firmware because the subnets weren't the same. I ended up having to manually set the IP v4 range of the network card and restarted the KingDMX software to gain access. Now that the IP was set to Artnet range, I reconnected the edmx1 to my mac.

In network settings, configure IPv4 'Manually' and set your IP address to 2.x.x.y so that the first three numbers of the IP of the edmx1 and your computer are the same. I used 2.10.36.183 on my computer and 2.10.36.182 on the edmx1 which was arbitrarily generated by the kingdmx setup software on the PC.

Subnet mask. I read a whole bunch of mixed information about what to set it to, but after talking with a technical friend, he said that many problems with connections to artnet are caused by the subnet being set to 255.255.0.0, which is incorrect, and the correct setting is 255.255.255.0

With these network settings, I tried to control the lights with a different piece of software on my mac, DMX-Artnet-Controller. It's quick and dirty, and I quickly managed to find out that my computer was speaking to the edmx1 and I was able to adjust lights individually.