DMX LED Strip setup?
  • blabberbytes

DMX LED Strip setup?

by blabberbytes » Thu Sep 01, 2016 6:18 am

First Off I wanted to start by saying I'm a complete noob and Don't know much but have been trying to read a lot about the subject matter.

I'm trying to control RGB LED strips via Madmapper. So far I have the Enttec Pro MK2. From my understanding I need a LED/DMX Driver and a power supply.

So my question is what what hardware I need to accomplish this? And specific brands/links/products you can point me to? What is your set up? I dont know enough about the topic to do a proper search for this via google. I have been trying, but have been failing miserably. I actually bought a DUMB DMX RGB LED controller but I want to be able to control individual pixels so this isnt want I wanted.

Please HAAALP!
    sigmasix
    master

Re: DMX LED Strip setup?

by sigmasix » Thu Sep 01, 2016 10:35 am

• blabberbytes

by blabberbytes » Fri Sep 02, 2016 12:15 am

Yeah I actually saw this. but It wasn't clear if he is able to control individual pixels with this setup. At this point I know how to control each channel separate, but I'm trying to control each individual pixel within a channel. And with this setup, which is similar to the one I got isn't really clear whether it accomplish this or not. Does anyone have first hand experience which a setup like this?
    sigmasix
    master

by sigmasix » Fri Sep 02, 2016 9:58 am

You can use a board like this one:

http://www.advateklights.com/pixlite-control/

It's convenient because you go directly from your computer to the board using artnet, no need for a dmx controller. Also, depending on the power consumption (number of LEDs by output) you can use the power given by the board.
  • blabberbytes

by blabberbytes » Tue Sep 13, 2016 11:56 am

Thanks I'll try that out
  • blabberbytes

by blabberbytes » Tue Jun 06, 2017 5:34 am