Giving possibility to turn v-Sync off in MadMapper
  • krokoO
    junior Member
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2014 7:46 pm

    Giving possibility to turn v-Sync off in MadMapper

    by krokoO » Sun Nov 27, 2016 1:36 am

    Hello,

    Would it be possible for MadMapper to have a user preference, where one could turn v-sync off.
    Currently it is not possible to run an app faster than display Hz if that app publishes data via Syphon Server, and there is a client, that listens to the Server and has V-sync on.
    By being possible to turn v-sync off in MadMapper (which is working as Syphon Client), user could run application (that exports Syphon) at desired frame rate (above display Hz).

    Related thread: https://github.com/Syphon/Syphon-Framework/issues/36

    Thanks!
    kroko
  • User avatar
    vade
    member
    Posts: 10
    Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 6:49 pm

    Re: Giving possibility to turn v-Sync off in MadMapper

    by vade » Sun Nov 27, 2016 2:24 am

    Post to subscribe to thread.
  • krokoO
    junior Member
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2014 7:46 pm

    Re: Giving possibility to turn v-Sync off in MadMapper

    by krokoO » Sun Nov 27, 2016 2:24 am

    In the mentioned thread in Github I added a test, that shows that indeed, if Client has v-sync off, then the app that is used as Server can do more calculations per second while still sending data to Client.
  • mad-matt
    garageCube team
    Posts: 368
    Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 5:50 pm

    Re: Giving possibility to turn v-Sync off in MadMapper

    by mad-matt » Sun Nov 27, 2016 3:51 pm

    Ok. It will be possible in 2.6. If you want a pre-version, send me a PM.

    You'll have to enter that in Terminal:
    defaults write com.garagecube.MadMapper doubleBufferredPreview 0
    defaults write com.garagecube.MadMapper doubleBufferredOutput 0

    When a Syphon input is used, MadMapper will try to render as soon as we receive a "newFrameHandler" notification from any Syphon server used (since we can use multiple Syphon streams at the same time). So it should be clean.
    Can you send a QC patch publishing a Syphon at high FPS ?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests