TOY CAR
  • meetenshah
    junior Member
    Posts: 3
    Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 7:04 am

    TOY CAR

    by meetenshah » Mon May 21, 2018 10:08 am

    Hi All,

    My first time mapping.
    I want to do some car reveal animations on a dummy toy car. But how do i get the dimensions of the car so i can use AE for the animations.
    Again, im a newbie so please bear with me.

    Regards
  • mad-matt
    garageCube team
    Posts: 545
    Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 5:50 pm

    Re: TOY CAR

    by mad-matt » Mon May 21, 2018 8:35 pm

    A possiblity, if you have the 3D model of the car as an OBJ file, with the UVs correct, is to use the 3D object in MadMapper, get the stream from AE through NDI with the free NDI plugin for Adobe products, and use in on the 3D object. Check the tutorials about 3D mapping / calibration.
  • meetenshah
    junior Member
    Posts: 3
    Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 7:04 am

    Re: TOY CAR

    by meetenshah » Wed May 23, 2018 8:58 am

    Hi mad-matt,

    Thanks for the reply.

    I dont think 3D is an option for me just yet.
    I was talking to a friend of mine and he said to take a picture from the projectors perspective and just do the animation on that.
    What are your thoughts?

    Regards
  • mad-matt
    garageCube team
    Posts: 545
    Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 5:50 pm

    Re: TOY CAR

    by mad-matt » Thu May 24, 2018 10:35 am

    Thanks a good idea. If your projector will not move (neither the cars), you can use spatial scanner, then you will have a picture taken from the projectors pixels. Very powerful feature: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CwRKvBL7jvE
  • meetenshah
    junior Member
    Posts: 3
    Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 7:04 am

    Re: TOY CAR

    by meetenshah » Mon May 28, 2018 11:23 am

    hi

    Thanks, ill give that a try.
  • imnotjohn
    junior Member
    Posts: 1
    Joined: Tue May 29, 2018 8:53 pm

    Re: TOY CAR

    by imnotjohn » Mon Jun 04, 2018 11:37 pm

    Hi, I am also trying to do something similar. Are there any other options if I do not have access to a Canon SDK-ready camera?
  • mad-matt
    garageCube team
    Posts: 545
    Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 5:50 pm

    Re: TOY CAR

    by mad-matt » Fri Jun 08, 2018 10:09 pm

    Spatial scanner works with any camera compatible with QuickTime on macOS / DirectShow on Windows. Canon is great because it has more pixels. But if you have a full HD camera, the spatial scan quality can be acceptable.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest