Soft edge blending and madmapper

Anything you pull out of your MadMapper hat

Soft edge blending and madmapper

Postby Mathouston » Wed Jun 01, 2011 4:16 am

Hello,

Is there a way to do softedge blending between two or more projector with madmapper ?

And what is the blend mode : over premultiplied ?
Mathouston
Junior Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2010 1:23 am

Re: Soft edge blending and madmapper

Postby david » Wed Jun 01, 2011 11:35 pm

Mathouston wrote:Is there a way to do softedge blending between two or more projector with madmapper ?

And what is the blend mode : over premultiplied ?


In 1.0, there is no softedge when using multiple output.

Over premultiplied has to be used when the color of your input image/movie/Syphon was already multiplied by the alpha channel.

Compositing with over is :
result = alpha * source + (1-alpha) * destination

with "over premultiplied" :
result = source + (1-alpha) * destination

This blending mode is useful with Syphon as the result of OpenGL rendering will premultiply the color passed to Syphon with the alpha channel.
If you use the wrong blending mode for a given input, you will see a problem on edges (which will be too dark)

Regards.
David * GarageCUBE team * Modul8 developer
User avatar
david
GarageCUBE team
 
Posts: 217
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 1:14 am
Location: Antibes, France

Re: Soft edge blending and madmapper

Postby bernielomax » Fri Jun 08, 2012 7:21 pm

this would be possible If they would add some more blending modes, to madmapper. like softlight and so on....
bernielomax
Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 4:02 pm


Return to Tips and Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron