MacPro 6 proyectors

Anything you pull out of your MadMapper hat

MacPro 6 proyectors

Postby james_r » Fri Dec 04, 2015 6:21 am

Can the MacPro handle 6 proyectors, each at 1024x768 using the Thunderbolt ports + 1 Hdmi Monitor?

Now i am using to macbook pro mid 2013, it works like a charm, but to keep the media sync across machines is a nightmare.

Thanks
james_r
Junior Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2014 7:17 pm
Location: Caracas-Venezuela

Re: MacPro 6 proyectors

Postby mad-matt » Mon Dec 14, 2015 9:44 am

Yes of course. I often test with 6 Full HD outputs with HDMI at 60 FPS withtout problem (using MadMapper 2).

keep the media sync across machines is a nightmare


Which version of MM ? MM 1.7 was using QuickTime to playback movies, MadMapper 2 uses a lower level playback based on FFMPEG. You can even control the current time with an OSC channel or a MIDI high resolution controller, so you could use a sequencer to control multiple MadMappers in sync. In MadMapper 2.2.2 you can control a movie position using the time in seconds or using the frame number.
mad-matt
MadMapper master
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 5:50 pm

Re: MacPro 6 proyectors

Postby james_r » Mon Jan 04, 2016 12:29 am

Thanks @mad-matt for your help.
I am using MM 2. right now, but i use Vdmx to play the videos, using Hap as a codec.

Do you think the mac pro will work with 6 output with VGA? also which MIDI high resolution controller do you recommend ?

Thanks.
james_r
Junior Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2014 7:17 pm
Location: Caracas-Venezuela

Re: MacPro 6 proyectors

Postby mad-matt » Mon Jan 04, 2016 11:43 am

> I am using MM 2. right now, but i use Vdmx to play the videos, using Hap as a codec.

If you're on 10.10, you can use HAP directly in MadMapper to get better performances

> Do you think the mac pro will work with 6 output with VGA?

Yes

> which MIDI high resolution controller do you recommend ?

you want high resolution MIDI knobs ? no idea, google knows better ;-)
mad-matt
MadMapper master
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 5:50 pm

Re: MacPro 6 proyectors

Postby franz » Mon Jan 04, 2016 11:46 am

Do you think the mac pro will work with 6 output with VGA?


no, not with the new mac pro... i never managed to have 6x vga outputs ...
6x DVI out yes
franz
MadMapper master
 
Posts: 605
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 7:05 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: MacPro 6 proyectors

Postby mad-matt » Mon Jan 04, 2016 9:11 pm

franz wrote:no, not with the new mac pro... i never managed to have 6x vga outputs ...
6x DVI out yes


Ok. I never tried but read this post: https://discussions.apple.com/thread/65 ... 0&tstart=0
Using TripleHead2Go analog edition ?
mad-matt
MadMapper master
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 5:50 pm

Re: MacPro 6 proyectors

Postby james_r » Tue Jan 05, 2016 2:26 am

franz wrote:
Do you think the mac pro will work with 6 output with VGA?


no, not with the new mac pro... i never managed to have 6x vga outputs ...
6x DVI out yes


Ok, what about HDMI? i am using ultrashort throw projectors and the all have HDMI input, the distance from the computer to the projectors is 15 meters top.

@mad-matt matrox tripleHead2Go might work.



Thanks
james_r
Junior Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2014 7:17 pm
Location: Caracas-Venezuela

Re: MacPro 6 proyectors

Postby mad-matt » Tue Jan 05, 2016 10:29 am

I tested with 6 individual ACTIVE HDMI->DVI convertors and it just work perfectly. I used the StarTech ones http://www.startech.com/fr/AV/Convertisseurs/Adaptateur-convertisseur-audio-et-video-actif-Mini-DisplayPort-vers-HDMI-Mini-DP-vers-HDMI-1920x1200~MDP2HDS

I also tested with 3 zotacs (http://www.amazon.com/ZOTAC-DisplayPort-Dual-Adapter-ZT-MDP2HD/dp/B005FSHHHG/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top?ie=UTF8) plus 3 screens, and it worked fine.
But Zotac mini dp->2x HDMI has been discontinued

I never tried those DisplayPort hubs: http://www.startech.com/ca/AV/Displayport-Converters/Mini-DisplayPort-Triple-Head-DisplayPort-Multi-Monitor-MST-Hub~MSTMDP123DP
Anyone did ?
mad-matt
MadMapper master
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 5:50 pm

Re: MacPro 6 proyectors

Postby james_r » Tue Jan 05, 2016 11:54 am

I did tried the displayPort hub but it only works on windows, it didn't work for me.

Too bad Zotac mini dp has been discontinued, that will be the best way to go.

I just came across this http://sigmasix-lab.tumblr.com/post/110 ... or-massive , maybe 2 matrox tripleHead2Go will do it.

Here is how the screen are setup in my project https://www.dropbox.com/sh/7e2cwrwkp21a ... MZqta?dl=0
james_r
Junior Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2014 7:17 pm
Location: Caracas-Venezuela


Return to Tips and Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests