selecting wich midi port modul8 is listening
  • treas
    member
    Posts: 12
    Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 1:35 am
    Location: Zurich, Switzerland
    Contact:

    selecting wich midi port modul8 is listening

    by treas » Tue Jan 08, 2008 12:09 am

    i need to choose from wich midi port/device m8 is getting the signals.

    at the time i´m using ableton live + m8 at the same machine + one bcr2000.
    now my "musical friends" will also send midi from another machine
    (also with -live-) to me (trough my bcr2000 as my midi interface).
    (and i will send signals back, but that´s no problem).
    for a better clarity, i need to route the signals from the other machine
    trough my -live- and then further to m8.
    but m8 reacts always to all midi ins, really a problem.

    has anyone suggestions? or another setup ...? or a little module in his deep space of datas :D
  • sonicslice
    activ8 member
    Posts: 54
    Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 11:22 am

    by sonicslice » Tue Jan 08, 2008 1:25 am

    I've not tried to, but it might work listening for your MIDI in live on one channel with the correct settings, as sent from your other computer, then setting the output to a different channel, with any luck, you should then re-broadcast the midi signals on a different channel, and should not interact with M8, I've not tried it and I don't really understand the need for it to pass through ableton first,but that should work - although only probably with monitor set to 'in'.
  • treas
    member
    Posts: 12
    Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 1:35 am
    Location: Zurich, Switzerland
    Contact:

    by treas » Tue Jan 08, 2008 3:16 pm

    sorry, i don´t understand all of your text (my english...) but
    i think it´s not that what i mean.
    i need to pass through ableton first because i need the possibility
    to route the midi signals from the other computer to different channels.
    the plan is, that i get all (or a lot of) midi signals (wich generate the music)
    from the other machine.

    for this i have 10 channels open in my ableton (for the 10 layers in m8 ),
    with midi to -all in- and the -outs- from 1 to 10.
    and i have 10 other channels open with midi loops.
    now i can decide to route for ex. CH1 from the other machine to layer 2
    and CH 2 from my machine to layer 3, both with midi binding to interesting params.
    and in the next song another routing.

    but while m8 is always listening on all ports (in that case also on the direct midi out
    from the other comp to the midi in on my bcr2000, wich is my midi interface
    )it doesnt work.
    ( it could be, that i get CC1 on CH1 from the other machine, but
    want only send CC1 on CH1 from a loop at my comp, you understand?)

    the idea is,that it´s better, i get all the signals from the other computer
    and than decide wich params on witch channels are interesting
    for the movies. because my musician friends have enough to do with their own routing.
    and because i am the vj :D
    all of this in a mix of pre-production and live play

    ...hope this will explain it...

    but perhaps there is another way for intelligent midi crossover,
    so if anyone have suggestions for this...
  • sonicslice
    activ8 member
    Posts: 54
    Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 11:22 am

    by sonicslice » Tue Jan 08, 2008 11:23 pm

    Well, if you are only using Ableton for that, then you're not really using the right tool for the job I would say.What you need is some sort of MIDI matrix routing software - so that you can utilise the information coming in to the computer on one parameter - not bound to anything in modul8 - and then route it to any CC you like - which would be bound to a specific destination. I'm working on a MIDI matrix in Pd (although it's not very hard to do to be honest) which could be used in the way you describe, but it might be quite intensive to use live.
  • treas
    member
    Posts: 12
    Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 1:35 am
    Location: Zurich, Switzerland
    Contact:

    by treas » Wed Jan 09, 2008 1:56 am

    i know what you mean with the midi matrix, it´s a good suggestion, thanx.
    i think with the ableton (perhaps the new one wich has more midi routing/chaining options)
    and midi pipe i could do a lot of things i need.

    but even then it´s strange, that i can´t say for example to m8:
    recognize only midi in from the virtual midi cable
    from ableton (on my comp) and not from the hardware midi interface.

    and i would be interested in your pd patch (i never used pd,
    but perhaps it would be a good reason to do it), so if it´s ready
    please contact me
  • sonicslice
    activ8 member
    Posts: 54
    Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 11:22 am

    by sonicslice » Wed Jan 09, 2008 8:13 pm

    treas wrote:but even then it´s strange, that i can´t say for example to m8:
    recognize only midi in from the virtual midi cable
    from ableton (on my comp) and not from the hardware midi interface.

    and i would be interested in your pd patch (i never used pd,
    but perhaps it would be a good reason to do it), so if it´s ready
    please contact me


    I agree - the midi implementation is lacking somewhat. The patch is not yet finished, and may need some customisation to work for you once it is, I'll try and remember to get ti to you when I finish it.
  • treas
    member
    Posts: 12
    Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 1:35 am
    Location: Zurich, Switzerland
    Contact:

    by treas » Sun Jan 13, 2008 8:50 pm

    great, thanks!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests