Recommended codec is not performing well.
  • AVR
    junior Member
    Posts: 8
    Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 12:21 am
    Location: Los Angeles

    Recommended codec is not performing well.

    by AVR » Sun Jan 27, 2008 6:11 am

    Hello,

    I've just begun compressing some clips with the recommended Photo - JPEG codec (working out of Motion 2.0) But it gives me a file that's over 7 seven times larger than using the DV/DVCPRO - NTSC codec, and its playback in M8 is very bad. I'm obviously doing something wrong here. Any help would be appreciated. Cheers and thanks.

    A
  • User avatar
    VjKg
    super8 member
    Posts: 169
    Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 10:27 pm
    Location: Philly
    Contact:

    by VjKg » Sun Jan 27, 2008 9:39 am

    We need details! Computer used (for Modul8), Video Resolution, FPS, How many layers running, length of Clip?. I use a lowly Macbook (1st gen) and I have to be creative and flexible with encoding based on answering these questions. Yes, full blown Photo-JPEG with is really nice. No it will not work for me with 20 sec loops on 7 layers with 15 effects at 720X480. My FPS would be 3.
  • AVR
    junior Member
    Posts: 8
    Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 12:21 am
    Location: Los Angeles

    by AVR » Sun Jan 27, 2008 10:43 am

    Hi VjKg,

    Ok...Running on a single layer: Both clips have the same FPS (29.9) duration (16 sec) and size (2000X480) So if all these parameters are the same, should the P-JPEG version really be that much larger? This is what I don't understand.

    I'm running M8 2.5 in a 4/1 workspace with a dual 2 gig G5 with 2.5 gigs of RAM, with a Radeon 256 card out to a Matrox Triple Head2go converter
  • sonicslice
    activ8 member
    Posts: 54
    Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 11:22 am

    by sonicslice » Sun Jan 27, 2008 7:34 pm

    are they 100% p-jpeg? or less? if you leave it at 100% it is effectively uncompressed, you need to lower it to around 75% or lower.
  • AVR
    junior Member
    Posts: 8
    Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 12:21 am
    Location: Los Angeles

    by AVR » Mon Jan 28, 2008 3:13 am

    Yes...Thanks. That was my problem. So, as general rule, we're trying to get the Ram Preload as low as possible?

    What I'm still confused about is the "Direct to disk" readout in the media panel. The same video file that I've compressed several different ways always reads the same here: Whether the file is 30MB or 300MB "Direct to disk" readout is always the same (about 11MB) If we get the Ram Preload to be lower MB with the right compression, why doesn't the direct to disk readout also change?

    thanks for the help Sonicslice

    A

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests