Multi-screen video installation / Network sync
  • pixel8
    member
    Posts: 17
    Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 9:42 am

    Multi-screen video installation / Network sync

    by pixel8 » Sun Mar 02, 2008 3:00 pm

    Hi all,

    I am working on a project that will require syncing together multiple machines to playback video content on an 8-screen lcd installation. This is not something I would normally consider doing with Modul8 until I read about the Network sync modul.Has anyone had experience with this?

    I was thinking to create a bank of video loops for each machine, then sequence them all from one master machine. Is this possible and if so how is the latency?

    Ontop of this I need to make the setup fairly self sufficient. Is there a way to a) force m8 to start a particular project and b) actively listen for network connections w/o user interaction?

    Any thoughts/ideas would be most appreciated.

    Cheers,
  • RickRobiN
    activ8 member
    Posts: 51
    Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 5:12 pm
    Location: amsterdam
    Contact:

    by RickRobiN » Mon Mar 03, 2008 4:34 am

    Hi, networks sync will make the 8 quicktimes loops out of sync 'after 5/10 seconds.
    You could make one big quicktime file and play it over 8 cards (dvi/vga) on a mac pro.
    Good luck
    cheers RR
  • tkalleder
    member
    Posts: 11
    Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 6:26 pm

    by tkalleder » Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:56 am

    we did that a few weeks ago with 2 projectors and an imac and a mpb. only synced via wlan. it needed a lot of tweaking around with the movie time but it worked pretty well.

    think if the computers are connected via gigabit ethernet it should work pretty damn well. i'll test that soon.

    if you wanna see a video how it looked, just say something...
  • User avatar
    wygiwys
    activ8 member
    Posts: 52
    Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:45 pm
    Location: Delft | Netherlands
    Contact:

    by wygiwys » Mon Mar 10, 2008 4:44 pm

    something
    What You Get Is What You See
    WYGIWYS.tv
  • tkalleder
    member
    Posts: 11
    Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 6:26 pm

    by tkalleder » Fri Mar 21, 2008 4:58 pm

    sorry took some time, but here is a short clip:
    http://myspacetv.com/index.cfm?fuseacti ... d=30738679
  • User avatar
    wygiwys
    activ8 member
    Posts: 52
    Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:45 pm
    Location: Delft | Netherlands
    Contact:

    by wygiwys » Fri Mar 21, 2008 7:32 pm

    Looks nice, only you can see a line in the middle.. or is that on purpose?
    What You Get Is What You See
    WYGIWYS.tv
  • tkalleder
    member
    Posts: 11
    Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 6:26 pm

    by tkalleder » Mon Mar 31, 2008 11:24 am

    well, on this video you can't see it really good but the left one is the clubs projector which is nearly dead. so it's giving a quite dark greenish image with yellow, white and green looking all the same :D so no line just a trashy projector and an ok-projector....
  • User avatar
    wygiwys
    activ8 member
    Posts: 52
    Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:45 pm
    Location: Delft | Netherlands
    Contact:

    by wygiwys » Mon Mar 31, 2008 3:43 pm

    That's a pity!
    What You Get Is What You See
    WYGIWYS.tv
  • User avatar
    markvideo
    member
    Posts: 16
    Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 6:24 pm

    by markvideo » Sun May 04, 2008 6:36 pm

    RickRobiN wrote:Hi, networks sync will make the 8 quicktimes loops out of sync 'after 5/10 seconds.
    You could make one big quicktime file and play it over 8 cards (dvi/vga) on a mac pro.
    Good luck
    cheers RR


    Hi. Does you know if the Mac Pros can handle the multiple screen outputs facility(Advanced Output) in Modula8, at full 720 quality?
    ie: No loss of frame rate or quality?
  • RickRobiN
    activ8 member
    Posts: 51
    Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 5:12 pm
    Location: amsterdam
    Contact:

    by RickRobiN » Tue May 06, 2008 2:55 am

    Okay. I will test it. What the max quicktime size is on a mac pro 08 with raid o vs codec. Off course if you know how a computer works 720P x7 is impossible imho.
    btw the audience won't see a difference between sd vs hd on such a multiscreen project anyway.
    2bc
    cheers RR

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests