View power point presentation with modul8

Technical support for modul8

Moderator: Garagecube

View power point presentation with modul8

Postby edithink » Wed Feb 10, 2010 5:30 pm

Hi, I'm a new user of modul8 and I will use it in a convention where I have 2 live cameras, some movies and a lot of power point to visualize.
The problem is that the power point presentations will be controlled live from the speakers and I can not trasform them in to a video.
It is necessary to project them live and to preserv the quality
Any suggestions?
Thank you
edithink
Junior Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 5:13 pm

Postby vanakaru » Wed Feb 10, 2010 6:55 pm

it is just a guess (since I never use PP) that you can not marry something so windows as PP to mac too easy. And all this would be too much to ask from one machine regardless of platform.
I would use PC for powerpoint and mac for live and Modul8 with a hardware mixer.
vanakaru
master
 
Posts: 669
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 9:24 pm

Postby edithink » Wed Feb 10, 2010 7:38 pm

Thanks, I will use a PC for the power point, but how to connect it to module8?
I can entry in firewire live, but tranforming the VGA signal coming from PC into a video signal, I will lose a lot of quality..
The answer is: is it possible to connect a VGA input to mac?
edithink
Junior Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 5:13 pm

Postby Vibber » Wed Feb 10, 2010 9:16 pm

As I understand your situation, you have two options when switching between the PP machine and the Modul8 one.

Either buy a capture solution (matrox mxo2 if your mac is a laptop or a blackmagic card if you have a mac pro)
There is no other way of getting a vga signal into your mac without quality loss.

Other option is to use a hardware video mixer.

Ok really there is also a third solution. If you don't need to switch between the two machines a lot, you might be able to use a cheap vga switch. But you will posiibly get a second or two of blue screen or 'signal not found' depending on how your projector reacts.
Vibber
super8 member
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 1:02 pm

Postby edithink » Thu Feb 11, 2010 9:51 am

Thanks, I will try with matrox mxo2 because I will use modul8 like a wach out; the power point must be inserted in an animated backgroud

Regards
edithink
Junior Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 5:13 pm

Postby robert » Thu May 13, 2010 11:45 pm

epiphan vga2usb works great thats what i use for ppt
robert
Junior Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 11:24 pm

Postby sigmasix » Fri May 14, 2010 9:28 pm

ah! what a good news, and it works well in modul8? you can get it as a live input? and do you think it would be possible to plug two of these in at the same time on the same computer?
User avatar
sigmasix
master
 
Posts: 1206
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:12 pm
Location: gva | switzerland

Postby The Midi Thief » Mon May 17, 2010 9:00 am

It just seems like the vga2usb must have some limit somehow? I mean what are the expensive devices that are using ExpressCard or FireWire800 doing wrong otherwise? There must be something like size limit, low frame rate, latency, bad colors or something?! I mean would you use it for capturing a VJ set too?!
User avatar
The Midi Thief
master
 
Posts: 483
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 7:19 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Postby sigmasix » Mon May 17, 2010 11:37 am

yep, I agree with you. The product description seems quite ok

http://www.epiphan.com/products/frame-grabbers/vga2usb/

a screenshot from their website

Image


and it says:

"VGA2USB software is compatible with DirectShow on Windows and QuickTime on Mac OS X, which allows third-party applications to use VGA2USB as a video input."


Of course it seems impossible for $300 to get something like this working properly compared to the pro products, but if we can have users feedback about it I'd be very happy to know if we're wrong or not ;)
User avatar
sigmasix
master
 
Posts: 1206
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:12 pm
Location: gva | switzerland

Postby sigmasix » Mon May 17, 2010 11:46 am

ok… after reading further on their website, here are some sad infos:

Resolution Frame Rate
640×480 28.0
800×600 20.6
1024×768 10.0
1280×1024 5.6
1600×1200 4.3
1920×1200 3.1
2048×1536 2.0

not even ok for a 1024x768 powerpoint playing animations or transitions…
User avatar
sigmasix
master
 
Posts: 1206
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:12 pm
Location: gva | switzerland

Epiphan

Postby r4f0 » Wed Oct 13, 2010 8:13 am

Yes, i can confirm that information
With epiphan you can capture at 640 28 frames. Same as ntsc, the same thing does a canopus twin pact 100

I used at 1024x768 and the quality besides the framerate is very poor.
r4f0
Junior Member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2008 10:02 pm

Epiphan VGA2USB + Module8 works?

Postby dizi » Thu Apr 07, 2011 4:51 pm

So can anyone confirm that the Epiphan VGA2USB is recognized in Modul8 as a possible video input (like a USB camera)? Framerate and image quality can be tweaked by buying a more expensive and capable model of Epiphan VGA2USB (standard, HR, LR, or Pro). I just would not want to buy it if i can't get the signal into Modul8.
User avatar
dizi
Junior Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 6:48 pm
Location: north america

Re: View power point presentation with modul8

Postby r4f0 » Thu Mar 24, 2016 2:43 am

Yes, Epiphan is recognised by m8.
r4f0
Junior Member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2008 10:02 pm


Return to Modul8 Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests