View power point presentation with modul8
  • edithink
    junior Member
    Posts: 3
    Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 5:13 pm

    View power point presentation with modul8

    by edithink » Wed Feb 10, 2010 5:30 pm

    Hi, I'm a new user of modul8 and I will use it in a convention where I have 2 live cameras, some movies and a lot of power point to visualize.
    The problem is that the power point presentations will be controlled live from the speakers and I can not trasform them in to a video.
    It is necessary to project them live and to preserv the quality
    Any suggestions?
    Thank you
  • vanakaru
    master
    Posts: 669
    Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 9:24 pm

    by vanakaru » Wed Feb 10, 2010 6:55 pm

    it is just a guess (since I never use PP) that you can not marry something so windows as PP to mac too easy. And all this would be too much to ask from one machine regardless of platform.
    I would use PC for powerpoint and mac for live and Modul8 with a hardware mixer.
  • edithink
    junior Member
    Posts: 3
    Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 5:13 pm

    by edithink » Wed Feb 10, 2010 7:38 pm

    Thanks, I will use a PC for the power point, but how to connect it to module8?
    I can entry in firewire live, but tranforming the VGA signal coming from PC into a video signal, I will lose a lot of quality..
    The answer is: is it possible to connect a VGA input to mac?
  • Vibber
    super8 member
    Posts: 161
    Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 1:02 pm

    by Vibber » Wed Feb 10, 2010 9:16 pm

    As I understand your situation, you have two options when switching between the PP machine and the Modul8 one.

    Either buy a capture solution (matrox mxo2 if your mac is a laptop or a blackmagic card if you have a mac pro)
    There is no other way of getting a vga signal into your mac without quality loss.

    Other option is to use a hardware video mixer.

    Ok really there is also a third solution. If you don't need to switch between the two machines a lot, you might be able to use a cheap vga switch. But you will posiibly get a second or two of blue screen or 'signal not found' depending on how your projector reacts.
  • edithink
    junior Member
    Posts: 3
    Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 5:13 pm

    by edithink » Thu Feb 11, 2010 9:51 am

    Thanks, I will try with matrox mxo2 because I will use modul8 like a wach out; the power point must be inserted in an animated backgroud

    Regards
  • robert
    junior Member
    Posts: 1
    Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 11:24 pm

    by robert » Thu May 13, 2010 11:45 pm

    epiphan vga2usb works great thats what i use for ppt
  • User avatar
    sigmasix
    master
    Posts: 1211
    Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:12 pm
    Location: gva | switzerland
    Contact:

    by sigmasix » Fri May 14, 2010 9:28 pm

    ah! what a good news, and it works well in modul8? you can get it as a live input? and do you think it would be possible to plug two of these in at the same time on the same computer?
  • User avatar
    The Midi Thief
    master
    Posts: 483
    Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 7:19 pm
    Location: Stockholm, Sweden
    Contact:

    by The Midi Thief » Mon May 17, 2010 9:00 am

    It just seems like the vga2usb must have some limit somehow? I mean what are the expensive devices that are using ExpressCard or FireWire800 doing wrong otherwise? There must be something like size limit, low frame rate, latency, bad colors or something?! I mean would you use it for capturing a VJ set too?!
  • User avatar
    sigmasix
    master
    Posts: 1211
    Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:12 pm
    Location: gva | switzerland
    Contact:

    by sigmasix » Mon May 17, 2010 11:37 am

    yep, I agree with you. The product description seems quite ok

    http://www.epiphan.com/products/frame-grabbers/vga2usb/

    a screenshot from their website

    Image


    and it says:

    "VGA2USB software is compatible with DirectShow on Windows and QuickTime on Mac OS X, which allows third-party applications to use VGA2USB as a video input."


    Of course it seems impossible for $300 to get something like this working properly compared to the pro products, but if we can have users feedback about it I'd be very happy to know if we're wrong or not ;)
  • User avatar
    sigmasix
    master
    Posts: 1211
    Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:12 pm
    Location: gva | switzerland
    Contact:

    by sigmasix » Mon May 17, 2010 11:46 am

    ok… after reading further on their website, here are some sad infos:

    Resolution Frame Rate
    640×480 28.0
    800×600 20.6
    1024×768 10.0
    1280×1024 5.6
    1600×1200 4.3
    1920×1200 3.1
    2048×1536 2.0

    not even ok for a 1024x768 powerpoint playing animations or transitions…
  • r4f0
    junior Member
    Posts: 9
    Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2008 10:02 pm

    Epiphan

    by r4f0 » Wed Oct 13, 2010 8:13 am

    Yes, i can confirm that information
    With epiphan you can capture at 640 28 frames. Same as ntsc, the same thing does a canopus twin pact 100

    I used at 1024x768 and the quality besides the framerate is very poor.
  • User avatar
    dizi
    junior Member
    Posts: 6
    Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 6:48 pm
    Location: north america
    Contact:

    Epiphan VGA2USB + Module8 works?

    by dizi » Thu Apr 07, 2011 4:51 pm

    So can anyone confirm that the Epiphan VGA2USB is recognized in Modul8 as a possible video input (like a USB camera)? Framerate and image quality can be tweaked by buying a more expensive and capable model of Epiphan VGA2USB (standard, HR, LR, or Pro). I just would not want to buy it if i can't get the signal into Modul8.
  • r4f0
    junior Member
    Posts: 9
    Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2008 10:02 pm

    Re: View power point presentation with modul8

    by r4f0 » Thu Mar 24, 2016 2:43 am

    Yes, Epiphan is recognised by m8.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests