Graphic errors in Modul8
  • Scandaniel
    member
    Posts: 31
    Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 2:27 pm

    Graphic errors in Modul8

    by Scandaniel » Fri Mar 26, 2010 6:00 pm

    The last few days I have had problems with M8. When I open a new or old project the "out-screen and the "preview"-screen is white. Clicking on them makes them go black. When I occasionally get a file in the "preview"-window it is a still image even if its a videoloop.

    [url]http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2780/4464089333_90e79459c7_o.jpg

    Even a safari-window can interfer with the preview window.

    I've taken my macbook to the apple-store and bought more RAM, I have reinstalled M8 and reset the PRAM settings on the Mac. Nothing helps!

    Illustrator and running quicktime movies works fine so it can't be the built-in graphiccard (note I'm not a experienced Mac geek).

    Any ideas?
    [/url][url][/url][url][/url]
  • User avatar
    sigmasix
    master
    Posts: 1222
    Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:12 pm
    Location: gva | switzerland
    Contact:

    by sigmasix » Sat Mar 27, 2010 10:36 am

    can you please give us more infos… for instance… what kind of computer you're using? what processor/ram/gpu, macos version, etc… otherwise we cannot help you
  • Scandaniel
    member
    Posts: 31
    Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 2:27 pm

    by Scandaniel » Sat Mar 27, 2010 12:17 pm

    Hi.

    To best show you whats wrong Ive taken some snapshots of my screen and posted them to my Flickr account.

    The first ones shows my M8 open and typical errors written in with illustrator:

    http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4023/446 ... ca64_o.jpg

    Here you will find info on my MacBook.

    Operatingsystem: http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4021/446 ... e05d_o.jpg

    Software overview: http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4055/446 ... 8dae_o.jpg

    Graphics/Screens:
    http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2728/446 ... 9ec6_o.jpg

    I have run a software test on my Mac, I have reset the PRAM, I have bought extra RAM,- Im getting out of ideas.

    I will test my M8 on a portable PC later today, to see it my license works there.

    Thanks for your help.
  • User avatar
    sigmasix
    master
    Posts: 1222
    Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:12 pm
    Location: gva | switzerland
    Contact:

    by sigmasix » Sat Mar 27, 2010 1:19 pm

    The graphic card you have in your mac (intel GMA 950) is a well known trouble maker with openGL… we actually cannot do anything to change this, it's a problem from this crappy cards and it's the same on mac/pc/unix… It's not even a driver problem. You'll get graphical errors on the output/preview and interface of modul8 with this crap…

    Sorry about that, but the only advice I can give you is to change your computer if your budget allows that… It seems that apple changed its strategy as the macbook has NVIDIA again now.

    For your groupA/B "problem", you only selected what you want to see in the preview window. If you want to output either group A or B, you have to check the fade checkboxes located in between the two layer groups, then you have a cross fader that allows to do what you were looking for.
  • Scandaniel
    member
    Posts: 31
    Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 2:27 pm

    by Scandaniel » Sat Mar 27, 2010 1:27 pm

    Thanks for your quick and professional reply.

    I've been twisting my head about this problem.

    Might need to change my Mac.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests