sound input problem - please help! gig tonight!
  • Sagberg
    junior Member
    Posts: 1
    Joined: Fri May 13, 2011 2:42 am

    sound input problem - please help! gig tonight!

    by Sagberg » Fri May 13, 2011 5:06 pm

    hi guys,

    i have a weird problem. my sound input works when i use the internal microphone. when i use the line in socket it doesn't. when i go to sound analysis i can see the signal coming in, but it just doesnt show on the sound viewer tool and there is no effect whatsoever. it just shows a tiny 000.4 input. there is definitely a signal, and it is clearly visible in the analysis but it doesn't show or work. when i switch back to the internal mic it works just fine.
    please help i have a gig tomorrow!

    best,
    david
  • User avatar
    tdog
    super8 member
    Posts: 130
    Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 1:23 pm
    Location: UK

    Re: sound input problem - please help! gig tonight!

    by tdog » Fri May 13, 2011 7:03 pm

    Sagberg wrote:hi guys,

    i have a weird problem. my sound input works when i use the internal microphone. when i use the line in socket it doesn't. when i go to sound analysis i can see the signal coming in, but it just doesnt show on the sound viewer tool and there is no effect whatsoever. it just shows a tiny 000.4 input. there is definitely a signal, and it is clearly visible in the analysis but it doesn't show or work. when i switch back to the internal mic it works just fine.
    please help i have a gig tomorrow!

    best,
    david


    your system?

    tdog
  • User avatar
    lotech
    ultim8 member
    Posts: 228
    Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 1:26 am
    Location: Auckland, NZ
    Contact:

    by lotech » Sat May 14, 2011 12:05 am

    From my experiencene getting sound working can be pretty a bit hit and miss. Once it's working it'll keep working.
    I find sometimes Modul8 on opening would set my system input volume at 0, others times Modul8 wouldn't see the feed at all unless I restart the app.
    My best practice would be to confirm you've got feed coming in via system prefs then start Modul8, then display the audio input display under edit before you do anything else. If it's there it should stick until closing.
    Good luck.
  • User avatar
    The Midi Thief
    master
    Posts: 483
    Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 7:19 pm
    Location: Stockholm, Sweden
    Contact:

    by The Midi Thief » Sat May 14, 2011 10:12 am

    I noticed that when I have Soundflower installed weird things sometimes happen.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests