Modul8 will only recognize internal camera
  • herbocarn
    junior Member
    Posts: 4
    Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 2:51 am

    Modul8 will only recognize internal camera

    by herbocarn » Tue Sep 20, 2011 2:59 am

    Anyone find a solution to this? Modul8 will not recognize my external camera through firewire...FCP, Quicktime photobooth all recognize the external camera but I can not select in Modul8...when the isight is chosen in the other programs modul8 will not even let me open the preferences to choose a camera...what the hell.

    opening quicktime pro 7 and choosing my camera does not work either.
  • vanakaru
    master
    Posts: 669
    Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 9:24 pm

    Re: Modul8 will only recognize internal camera

    by vanakaru » Tue Sep 20, 2011 6:22 pm

    herbocarn wrote:
    opening quicktime pro 7 and choosing my camera does not work either.


    This would be the clue for me. It seems that the camera is not suitable for live capture through Quicktime and thus for Modul8 either.
  • herbocarn
    junior Member
    Posts: 4
    Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 2:51 am

    by herbocarn » Tue Sep 20, 2011 6:47 pm

    Thanks for the reply. With the Quicktime comment...I meant, I CAN get my camera recognized through Quicktime...it works. Just can't get modul8 to recognize it. Some folks in the boards suggested if Quicktime recognizes the camera so will modul8...not in my case. Also occupying the isight with photobooth so that modul8 has to seek other inputs does not work either. When I do this, I am not able to go into the preferences to choose which camera input I want...
  • User avatar
    ellenpan
    junior Member
    Posts: 9
    Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2010 7:51 pm
    Location: Taiwan

    Re: Modul8 will only recognize internal camera

    by ellenpan » Tue Jan 03, 2012 7:20 pm

    exactly the same problem here, wonder if you find any solution?
    please help!
  • User avatar
    The Midi Thief
    master
    Posts: 483
    Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 7:19 pm
    Location: Stockholm, Sweden
    Contact:

    Re: Modul8 will only recognize internal camera

    by The Midi Thief » Wed Jan 04, 2012 9:43 am

    herbocarn has posted this topic in another thread too where I think I found and answered his problem. You can't use the same camera in several apps at the same time. In heberocarn's case he was using Photobooth at the same time. As for the iSight built into MBPs: if the green light is on before you launch the camera in Modul8 it means that some other app has control over it. You have to stop the camera usage in that app or maybe even shut it down/restart it and probably also restart Modul8 to make it work. I hope it helped you too.
  • herbocarn
    junior Member
    Posts: 4
    Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 2:51 am

    Re: Modul8 will only recognize internal camera

    by herbocarn » Wed Jan 04, 2012 10:00 am

    Hey there. I was actually never able to resolve the problem. I tried all suggestions...blocking isight, running another program at same time (the photobooth thing)...none of it worked. I could never get the program to recognize my hdv camera hooked in through firewire...total mystery to me. When I opened Quicktime pro up - it recognized the camera, no problem. Modul8 won't recognize the hook up (even with no other programs running - even downloading a program to completely disable the camera in mac). Very frustrating.
  • User avatar
    ellenpan
    junior Member
    Posts: 9
    Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2010 7:51 pm
    Location: Taiwan

    Re: Modul8 will only recognize internal camera

    by ellenpan » Wed Jan 04, 2012 12:14 pm

    Thanks a lot, Midi Thief. But I have the same result as herbocarn. Using only one app at the same time, but still it didn't work. Also the photobooth can automatically hook up the hdv, which means the setting and connection is working fine, yet the Modul8 cannot recognize it.
    I think I'll use an external HQ webcam instead.(which works perfectly well in Modul8)
    and maybe try some different types of camera see if it works. :roll:
  • vanakaru
    master
    Posts: 669
    Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 9:24 pm

    Re: Modul8 will only recognize internal camera

    by vanakaru » Wed Jan 04, 2012 12:23 pm

    My advise would be like this as well: get/use the camera that works with M8. There is a extensive list of working devices on sticky.
    Since there are so many makers and no standard to capture devices I would never bother to gamble when buying one. For reliability I use iSight camera pulled from iMac and fitted with USB cable. It will be recognised as iSight2 or iSight always. It has never failed so far and quality and framerate and latency is more than acceptable.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests