flash/invert confused
  • JJHP3
    activ8 member
    Posts: 75
    Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 3:59 am
    Location: Philadelphia, US
    Contact:

    flash/invert confused

    by JJHP3 » Sat Mar 25, 2006 12:44 am

    Hi

    Really great program! I have discovered a problem which may be M8 or my Alesis x25 MIDI controller. I have assigned a button to flash and if I push the button, either in toggle or momentary mode AND move another MIDI controller, the screen gets stuck with all the "output add color" sliders at their maximum. I tried invert too-same outcome. I then have to drag the three back sliders to their off position before the screen returns to normal. My idea, somewhat simpleminded, was to flash white as I switched from A to B. This I can't do because of this sticking. Any suggestions?

    Best,

    John
  • jm302
    super8 member
    Posts: 110
    Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 7:47 pm
    Location: Seatown (Rain City)
    Contact:

    by jm302 » Sat Mar 25, 2006 4:41 am

    Hey John,

    I tried tried to replicate your problem with my Remote25 but everything worked as it should. Sounds like your Alesis is acting funny. Try using the PrintDirectEvent module to see if some strange MIDI occurance is happening (or try a stand alone app called Midi Monitor). Good luck!

    Cheers,
    Justin
    "Just because no one understands you doesn't mean you're an artist" -- Anonymous

    http://www.302acid.com
  • JJHP3
    activ8 member
    Posts: 75
    Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 3:59 am
    Location: Philadelphia, US
    Contact:

    by JJHP3 » Sat Mar 25, 2006 5:20 am

    Justin- thanks for the feedback - I did try Midi Monitor and all is well... both controller and off/on button show up fine, as played. Huh... maybe something about endless rotary knobs?

    Cheers,

    John
  • User avatar
    p8guitar
    member
    Posts: 35
    Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2005 6:59 pm
    Location: Bochum (Germany)

    by p8guitar » Sun Jan 28, 2007 10:54 pm

    The three add output faders get stuck at maximum position when I activate flash with midi controll changes. Invert does work ok.
    When I use midi notes instead of CCs, flash works as expected, for some strange reason.
    (Modul8 2.5.4, Mac OS 10.4.9, iMac 2.33GHz Intel Core 2 duo / 2GB RAM; MIDI: RME fireface 800, Novation Remote ZSL, Korg microKontrol, Faderfox LV2 and LX2. )
  • dobba
    junior Member
    Posts: 5
    Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 4:30 pm

    by dobba » Fri Feb 16, 2007 12:04 pm

    This also happens if you asign the flash and invert to keys on the keyboard. Sometimes when you press them both together it gets stuck on invert.

    I have my right shift key and forward slash (/) key assigned to these and to get out of it I have to hold down the invert (/) whilst holding the flash (shift) though it doesn't work first time.
  • cycloptic
    member
    Posts: 19
    Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 12:12 pm
    Location: manchester uk
    Contact:

    by cycloptic » Fri Apr 20, 2007 8:17 pm

    i think this has to do with how the keyboard works-keystroke priorities. but you can work this to your advantage if you understand how it wors.
    for example, i have P [ ] asigned to rgb- and if i hold them and press (up) to select the next layer up, it will keep the values on full on the lower layer (and remove the values on the upper layer once you release the keys)

    MORE TO THE POINT:
    the shift button is a strange one (because it is hard wired to be held when other keys are pressed) it will sometimes hold the value of that key.

    for example: i have "shift" assigned to layer on/off, "," assigned to invert, and "." assigned to flash, if i presse "shift"+"," i can toggle the layer on/off and invert at the same time, alternately going between 0 and 1 values for both and holding the resulting value when released...

    does this make any sense?
  • am3n3
    junior Member
    Posts: 3
    Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 9:08 pm

    by am3n3 » Fri Jun 08, 2007 11:24 am

    I've had this invert/flash stuck problem several times, but instead of reassigning the keys, I've assigned knobs on my UC-33e for each channel in Invert Output Color and Output Add Color to reset the levels whenever the stuck flash or invert happens again.

    Not the most elegant way of doing it, but could be useful if you already have those color functions assigned on your controller.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests