Synch 4 modul8 on different computers.
  • Paul M
    junior Member
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 5:48 pm

    Synch 4 modul8 on different computers.

    by Paul M » Wed Feb 22, 2012 6:04 pm

    Hi everyone.

    For an installation i need to map and plays 4 videos.
    I have 4 videos. 4 computers with Modul8/MadMapper. 4 projectors.
    Theses 10 minute videos needs to start and be synched during play.
    I want to know if there's some tools or techniques to synch the playing via network.

    As a silent reader of this forum, it's my first post in here.
    And i want let you to know that these technical readings are great inspiration to me.
    So thank you for your input.

    Paul
  • User avatar
    sigmasix
    master
    Posts: 1224
    Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:12 pm
    Location: gva | switzerland
    Contact:

    Re: Synch 4 modul8 on different computers.

    by sigmasix » Thu Feb 23, 2012 3:43 am

    You can sync the start of a video and resync each, but even if it's the same computer/projector/resolution etc. It's just impossible to have a perfect sync over time…

    The Network module can help you to use one modul8 as a master controlling the others.
    Then you'll have to find or build a module to keep your videos starting at the same time each loop so if one goes too fast it will have to wait for the master to loop (and if it's going slower the end would be cut…)

    If you want perfect sync between machines, you'll have to try watchout but it clearly not the same price range ;)
  • Paul M
    junior Member
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 5:48 pm

    Re: Synch 4 modul8 on different computers.

    by Paul M » Thu Mar 01, 2012 4:30 am

    So after some testing and infidelities to Modul8, i finally found a solution.
    With good help from a friend, i built a processing midi sender based on computer's clock.
    this little piece of code send a midi signal each 20 minutes mapped on the "reset" button from "Play-stop Layers (GUI)" module.

    This way, and with ram loading enabled, i can be sure that the video is playing without tragic delays.

    I can bought the code if any of you are interested.

    I didn't found any demo of watchout.
    Witch is pretty bad because i would definitely like to test some reliable apps with network abilities.

    Thanks for the tips.
  • User avatar
    sigmasix
    master
    Posts: 1224
    Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:12 pm
    Location: gva | switzerland
    Contact:

    Re: Synch 4 modul8 on different computers.

    by sigmasix » Thu Mar 01, 2012 12:05 pm

    watchout is way different than Modul8. First, you must have one machine for each display/projector. And one licence each (2249$). Sooo… if you want to try, you better find a video renting company and rent one and ask for a demo, it might be cheaper
  • cogitator
    junior Member
    Posts: 6
    Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 12:31 pm

    Re: Synch 4 modul8 on different computers.

    by cogitator » Mon Mar 19, 2012 12:33 pm

    Hey Paul,
    yes i would like to see the code and some detailed information :-)
  • Lutz
    member
    Posts: 10
    Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 2:38 pm

    Re: Sync 4 modul8 on different computers.

    by Lutz » Mon Mar 19, 2012 10:20 pm

    Well, frame-accurate sync can in fact be achieved in M8, it just requires some scripting and some workaround.
    Let‘s assume we want to play four movie clips in sync (for now on the same machine):
    since the periodical stuff is done between two frames, there will always be a little time-shift between the `master-layer´ and the `slaves`, therefore we duplicate the first layer which will now serve as our `master` while the rest will be the `slaves`(and in sync).
    Make shure that on all slaves the speed is set to zero:
    (ctrl_layer_movie_speedFactor == 0.0)
    Only the master is actually playing:
    (ctrl_layer_movie_speedFactor > 0.0)
    And make shure the master is invisible:
    (ctrl_layer_alpha == 0.0)

    The work is done in a periodical script:

    Code: Select all

    #Define a SyncPosition and retrieve its value from the master-layer (in this case the master is layer 1):

    syncPos = modul8.getValue('direct_layer_media_timePosition',1)

    #Now set the slaves (here: layers 2-5) to that position:

    modul8.setValue('direct_layer_media_timePosition',syncPos,2)
    modul8.setValue('direct_layer_media_timePosition',syncPos,3)
    modul8.setValue('direct_layer_media_timePosition',syncPos,4)
    modul8.setValue('direct_layer_media_timePosition',syncPos,5)


    voila, four layers playing perfectly in sync!

    You can now send `syncPos`over the network via OSC and can have your clips sitting on different machines (on the same network of course)
    Keep in mind that the slaves don`t play any sound, because they are actually not playing (they are just set to a new position every frame!)
    Hope that helps.
    Lutz
  • cogitator
    junior Member
    Posts: 6
    Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 12:31 pm

    Re: Synch 4 modul8 on different computers.

    by cogitator » Thu Mar 22, 2012 10:10 am

    Hey Lutz,

    thank you very much, that looks very interesting. I gonna test this on the weekend.

    Greets
  • poetics
    junior Member
    Posts: 1
    Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 10:32 pm

    Re: Synch 4 modul8 on different computers.

    by poetics » Tue May 08, 2012 10:33 pm

    how did this work out for you?

    poetics.
  • cogitator
    junior Member
    Posts: 6
    Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 12:31 pm

    Re: Synch 4 modul8 on different computers.

    by cogitator » Sat Jun 02, 2012 10:35 pm

    Hey lutz thank you very much for that hint. I managed to sync three machines perfectly. I used the global osc plugin and modified it, so that i can enter the ip adresses of all slaves in the network and sync them.
  • martincobelo
    junior Member
    Posts: 1
    Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 5:43 pm

    Re: Synch 4 modul8 on different computers.

    by martincobelo » Fri Sep 14, 2012 5:57 pm

    Hello cogitator, could you please share how you modified the global OSC plugin to send the 'SyncPos' to others machine ???

    Thanks in Advance. Martin
  • eMTv
    junior Member
    Posts: 7
    Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2010 12:05 pm

    Re: Synch 4 modul8 on different computers.

    by eMTv » Tue Sep 18, 2012 1:47 pm

    Hi all,

    concerning the sync script that Lutz posted : when I (manually) set the alpha of layer 1 (= master layer) to 0, it seems that the movie doesn't play anymore, as if it was paused. So the slave layers don't play either...

    any idea?

    ps : and also, if I reduce the alpha of the master layer, it reduces accordingly its sound level. is there a workaround ?

    Forget it, guys, I understood : I had the "transparency and crossfader link" checkbox activated...

    everything's working fine now ;)
  • diz_co
    junior Member
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 6:00 pm

    Re: Synch 4 modul8 on different computers.

    by diz_co » Mon Mar 21, 2016 5:44 pm

    Where are you entering this code to make the layers sync?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests