Python ?s
    orion
    super8 member

Python ?s

by orion » Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:12 pm

I'm not a python expert, probably not even a novice, but I can cut and paste like a pro :) I'm attempting to teach myself python, at least enough to be able to read it and understand the modul8 manual :shock: (which i should re-read) . I was sifting through some modules and saw some syntax that I haven't seen before and then I started wondering, is this python 2.7.2 or python3? I thought about homebrewing in python3 but I wanted to ask if it'll will mess up anything in modul8 if I have both versions of python running? Also, is there an advantage to having python3 installed or am I good with 2.7.2?

Also, import, how do i see a list of things i can import? I see math, copy, urllib, random, time, os, datetime, webbrowser, etc. in other peoples modules, where are you guys finding these.
    After said import, there's usually a 'from (x) import (y)' y being parameters of x. How do I view those options as well? I'm guessing maybe the libraries are plentiful and it's better to know what you're looking for than to see a list of all the libraries? I think I read somewhere that python has a library for just about everything so let me know if i'm wasting my time.

Not sure if this is the best forum for python questions but I only care to learn python for use with modul8 so I figured...
    sigmasix
    master

Re: Python ?s

by sigmasix » Fri Jun 14, 2013 2:33 pm

Modul8 is using python 2.6 if I'm not mistaking, so no need to get python3, you won't be able to use it from within modul8.

For the libs, you better know what you want to do and then find the way to do it using your good friend google. If you need to use a lib, you'll find that info. The other way round is strange, it would mean that you'll make a module that does something just because you found a lib that does that?!
    orion
    super8 member

by orion » Fri Jun 14, 2013 10:17 pm