Page 1 of 1

Modul8 autoplay or random play?

Posted: Tue May 23, 2017 10:00 pm
by AgentD
Hello!

Someone asked me to perform a long Vj set (4 hours) at a club. I could mix and perform for 4 hours but I thought it would be great if I can do something like "Autoplay", "Automation" or "Random Play" with selected clips so that I can leave the table for a few minutes in case I have to step out. I looked around but I haven't been able to find any solution to this. This seems like such a common request so I believe that I am missing correct keywords to search...

If anyone has any suggestions or experience please let me know. I really appreciate it. Thanks!

AD

Re: Modul8 autoplay or random play?

Posted: Thu May 25, 2017 8:23 pm
by anomad
. here are some starting points for a module -

. in Init()

Code: Select all


## in case we and a randomizer
from random import randint, seed, random
seed(random)

##
##
## random media

allMedia = []            ## list of media ID numbers that were found when scan is pressed
mediaOnLayer = [0] * 11      ## current media on layer, used to choose same media twice in a row

def findAllMedia() :
   print "find all media "
   mediaCheck = modul8.getValue('info_media_names',0)

   for i in range(len(mediaCheck)) :
      if mediaCheck[i] != '' :
         print "found"
         allMedia.append(i)


def rndMedia(layer) :
   alreadyUsed = True      
   while alreadyUsed :
      rndPick = randint(0,len(allMedia)-1)
      print rndPick, "   randomPick "
      if rndPick != mediaOnLayer[layer] :
         modul8.setValue('ctrl_layer_media', allMedia[rndPick], layer)
         mediaOnLayer[layer] = rndPick
         alreadyUsed = False


. general workflow :

. create a module that has a 'find media button' and 'random media for layer 1' button
. load media into various banks
. click the 'find media' button that runs findAllMedia() - that creates an array of valid media assets (so a later random call won't pick an 'empty' media)
. click then 'random media layer one button' that calls rndMedia(1) and it should pick a random media asset from all valid media assets and not re-select the currently active media


. good luck!

-james
(a nomad. )

Re: Modul8 autoplay or random play?

Posted: Thu May 25, 2017 8:53 pm
by AgentD
Hi, Thank you for your suggestion. I am actually quite a beginner and I have to admit that I really don't know how i can create the "button" and how to apply the script for Modul8. If you can please point me to a page which has more step by step info I would really appreciate it. Thank you again.

Re: Modul8 autoplay or random play?

Posted: Mon May 29, 2017 12:20 am
by anomad
. the module programming manual is a good start - i think the power in Modul8 (vs other VJ software) is the ability to create modules

http://www.modul8.ch/documentation/modules_manual/

-james
(a nomad. )

Re: Modul8 autoplay or random play?

Posted: Wed May 31, 2017 5:33 pm
by broken
I find the "slideshow" modules in the online library to be helpful for this type of thing..

You can basically set the range of media clips you wish to select from, can randomize the clip that plays, or just play the next in the list. Can choose fading options, as well as how long to play or loop the clip.

Re: Modul8 autoplay or random play?

Posted: Wed May 31, 2017 6:26 pm
by AgentD
THANK YOU!!