MIDI sequencing help/suggestions needed
  • jm302
    super8 member
    Posts: 110
    Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 7:47 pm
    Location: Seatown (Rain City)
    Contact:

    MIDI sequencing help/suggestions needed

    by jm302 » Sat Dec 04, 2004 5:32 pm

    Well, it is possible to entirely pilot Modul8 using a sound application through the midi channel. We know several arstist who did it. Now for performances reasoms, it is better to have to different machines (one for sound and one Modul8).
    "Just because no one understands you doesn't mean you're an artist" -- Anonymous

    http://www.302acid.com
  • Akira
    ultim8 member
    Posts: 388
    Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 5:47 pm
    Location: Argentina

    by Akira » Fri Dec 17, 2004 3:09 pm

    Was this a question or a reply to some lost thread?

    Anyway, my sequencing is being done by an electribe EA-1. I use one of its parts to sequence video on our video machine.

    It would be cool if modul8 had a Rewire engine to hook it up to Ableton Live 4!
  • jm302
    super8 member
    Posts: 110
    Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 7:47 pm
    Location: Seatown (Rain City)
    Contact:

    by jm302 » Fri Dec 17, 2004 9:26 pm

    Akira wrote:Was this a question or a reply to some lost thread?


    Um, this isn't my post. I had posted to ask if anyone had tried to pump a MIDI sequence out of Live via Midipipe into Modul8. That's my plan, unless it simply won't work. So, Garagecube Team: something might be wrong with the forum... as I said, what Akira replied to was not my original post, nor even written by me. It appears to be a response to my original post, by an admin I'm guessing. Is there any way to retrieve the original post? I was looking to see what different methods people were using to MIDI sequence to Modul8.

    someone wrote:Now for performances reasons, it is better to have two different machines (one for sound and one Modul8)


    I agree completely. What I'm thinking about is using Live (on the same machine as Modul8) to simply pump out the occasional MIDI note to control the video. I'd use my other machine to do my audio as normal (Live/Reason). In theory, running Live with no VSTs or anything CPU-intensive, simply sending the MIDI notes, should not have much impact on the machines overall performance. Again, this is simply a hypothesis based on my experience with Live. I want to avoid hardware sequencers as I already own too much equipment, so implementing a soft-sequencer is the only idea I wish to entertain (assuming I can make it work right). If anyone has successfully used software sequencing to control Modul8, I've love to hear what app(s) were used, and, more specifically, what methods did not work. I'm scheduling time in late January to begin this project, so I'll post my results as they happen.

    Cheers,
    Justin
    "Just because no one understands you doesn't mean you're an artist" -- Anonymous

    http://www.302acid.com
  • User avatar
    boris
    garageCube team
    Posts: 910
    Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:36 am
    Location: Geneva
    Contact:

    by boris » Sat Dec 18, 2004 5:32 pm

    jm302 wrote:Um, this isn't my post.


    Sorry, we do not know what occurred...
    Your original message seems to have disappeared... :shock:

    B.
    Boris * garageCube team
  • spectral
    member
    Posts: 26
    Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 1:18 am
    Location: Brighton, UK

    Please rewire

    by spectral » Mon Jan 03, 2005 10:00 pm

    Rewire would be fantastic....i would love to be able to rewire into reason,logic etc....but maybe theres an easy way to do it with simple internal midi device ????

    good luck
  • eMpTy

    by eMpTy » Wed Feb 02, 2005 12:15 am

    I am looking into using Numerology www.five12.com to send midi data into Modul8. Two fantastic mac only programs that push boundries.

    I still haven't really got them to work in tamdem yet and haven't figured how to get the lfos in Num to send data out of the program but I know it can be done.

    One can set groups in Num to play music while other groups modulate Modul8s params or just modulate Modul8, could be very effective if done well.

    Oh! btw the demo of Numerology is functional enough to play around with.
  • spectral
    member
    Posts: 26
    Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 1:18 am
    Location: Brighton, UK

    oh please rewire

    by spectral » Thu May 05, 2005 10:10 pm

    i am no hardcore techy but rewire would be so good.

    Is it something that you have to licence?
    ....if so i understand if it does not get implemented....

    but hey what a great program you have made anyway...much respect...

    await version 2.....
  • refresh
    member
    Posts: 19
    Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 3:02 am
    Location: Vieques, Puerto Rico
    Contact:

    by refresh » Fri Oct 21, 2005 3:24 am

    eMpTy wrote:I am looking into using Numerology www.five12.com to send midi data into Modul8. Two fantastic mac only programs that push boundries.

    I still haven't really got them to work in tamdem yet and haven't figured how to get the lfos in Num to send data out of the program but I know it can be done.

    One can set groups in Num to play music while other groups modulate Modul8s params or just modulate Modul8, could be very effective if done well.

    Oh! btw the demo of Numerology is functional enough to play around with.


    I've been using Numerology with M8 and it works quite well and is potentially powerful and definately fun.
    Be sure and read the Numerology read me, it helps a lot. Also I found that in order to get a lot of overlapping midi notes with different velocity (layer opacity), for a very layered dynamic look, i needed to use the Multi Note Prototype and patch 2 or 3 groups of (Pitch, Velocity, Gate) prototypes into the Multi Note thingie. After sending all those to "Numerology Out 1", and then painstakingly setting up the midi mapping in M8 i was able to get a very neat layered sequence that i could manipulate from Numerolgy in a variety of ways... havn't tried LFOs though, although i bet having those trigger opacity will be one hot ticket..
    triggering M8 and Ableton Live from Numerology was also working but only with a couple of tracks in each app.. anymore started to really tax my little 12'' pb..
    maybe time to buy it Numerolgy.. course it's damn tempting to just write "Numerology lite" as a module in M8.. seems pretty doable but lots of work obviously..
    Fun stuff..
  • Chris
    junior Member
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 1:31 pm
    Location: Chicago IL.

    by Chris » Thu Jan 10, 2008 1:41 pm

    I was wondering is if there is a way to send midi messages from Reason to Modul8? Any ideas?
  • sonicslice
    activ8 member
    Posts: 54
    Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 11:22 am

    by sonicslice » Thu Jan 10, 2008 11:23 pm

    Chris wrote:I was wondering is if there is a way to send midi messages from Reason to Modul8? Any ideas?


    reason doesn't send MIDI data out AKAIK.
  • Chris
    junior Member
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 1:31 pm
    Location: Chicago IL.

    by Chris » Sat Jan 12, 2008 4:29 pm

    Is there a program that can send midi sequences to modul8? Reason with Rewire, or Ableton Live...?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest