RemoteSL Template for Modul8
  • User avatar
    ri
    junior Member
    Posts: 6
    Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 2:02 am
    Location: Oregon Coast
    Contact:

    RemoteSL Template for Modul8

    by ri » Fri Oct 05, 2007 10:32 am

    Here's a template I've been using for my Novation RemoteSL 25. Of course, there are a million ways one can map, but this seemed pretty logical to me after much dinking around with it.

    I save it as my standard mapping, and I can plug it in any time, move a key or two, and it stays mapped.

    http://www.rimix.us/downloads/Modul8.syx.zip

    Peace
    Last edited by ri on Fri Sep 05, 2008 6:40 am, edited 1 time in total.
  • Dax
    junior Member
    Posts: 1
    Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 11:45 pm

    thanks for the post, question tho

    by Dax » Tue Nov 13, 2007 11:50 pm

    I just got a RemoteSL and am also a new Modul8 user, although I am a very experienced VJ.

    I wonder if I am missing something here, it seems Modul8 doesn't have any MIDI control assigned by default so your including your template in this post for others to use would require them to map the Modul8 controls as you have laid them out, right?

    Just making sure I'm not missing something that would get me up and running with the remoteSL and modul8 combo more quickly.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Dax
  • User avatar
    ri
    junior Member
    Posts: 6
    Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 2:02 am
    Location: Oregon Coast
    Contact:

    Remote SL Mapping

    by ri » Wed Nov 14, 2007 12:00 am

    It's necessary to assign the mapping to the keyboard. There are no automatic mapping from Novation for Modul8 in their automap.

    You will probably find you will want to customize this anyhow for your particular VJ style.
  • stribiz
    junior Member
    Posts: 1
    Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 3:37 pm
    Contact:

    Re: Remote SL Mapping

    by stribiz » Sun Dec 30, 2007 12:45 am

    Hi ri,

    i uploaded your template to my new remote sl via the remote sl editor. but modul8 does not react if i press or shift anythink.

    new mapping works fine, but i wanted to use your template, mmh?
    do you have any idea?

    best wishes from stribiz
  • B1scu1t
    junior Member
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 6:21 pm
    Location: Manchester

    by B1scu1t » Sat Jan 19, 2008 5:25 pm

    have u uploaded this to Novation? they may add it to the default mapping pack
  • spongemonkey
    member
    Posts: 49
    Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 10:41 am

    by spongemonkey » Mon Apr 07, 2008 3:02 am

    So I don't want to sound totally stupid, but I am way NEW to midi, and have no idea how to use this midi map.
    I have searched thru both the Modul8 manual and the Remote Zero manual and I cannot figure out to use this map, where to put it, how to load it, etc.
    I am guessing this is REALLY basic and simple.

    Anyone wanna toss me some help?
  • spongemonkey
    member
    Posts: 49
    Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 10:41 am

    by spongemonkey » Thu Apr 10, 2008 7:33 am

    So after more digging I finally figured out how to upload the map to my SL, but I can't get it to respond to Modul8.

    Still looking for any advice!
    Thanks!
  • lucaschiavoni
    junior Member
    Posts: 1
    Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 5:40 pm

    by lucaschiavoni » Fri Oct 31, 2008 5:42 pm

    spongemonkey wrote:So after more digging I finally figured out how to upload the map to my SL, but I can't get it to respond to Modul8.

    Still looking for any advice!
    Thanks!


    me too. Same problem, same Modul8, and a new Novation ready to abuse ;)

    the map is inside, but how to use in modul8?

    thank u in advance

    Luca\S
  • User avatar
    ri
    junior Member
    Posts: 6
    Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 2:02 am
    Location: Oregon Coast
    Contact:

    by ri » Fri Oct 31, 2008 6:50 pm

    You have to map it to the modul8 keys individually. It then saves it to modul8.... so you should never have to do it again.

    You can do it for the whole program (which I do) or individual set files.
  • User avatar
    plax
    member
    Posts: 30
    Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 4:07 pm

    by plax » Fri Mar 06, 2009 8:47 pm

    could you post the template again ? i cant succed to do my own one using the drum mad it dont work and they are so many menu in the SL what do i need to choose and do to activate all the button, pad..
    macbook intelcore duo 2 GHZ - 2 giga de ram
  • 1000errors
    member
    Posts: 13
    Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 3:05 pm

    novation remote sl endless encoders not working with modul8

    by 1000errors » Mon Mar 29, 2010 1:00 pm

    hi, i have a remote sl and have just started making a template to control modul8, my problem is the endless encoders although possible to map they do not work correctly, they just jump from one extreme to another without smoothly turning the knobs in modul8.
    When i see the virtual knobs in the automap server software they turn correctly but once they are mapped to the knobs to modul8 the modul8 knobs do not turn correctly.
    The normal rotaries and the sliders work fine, its just the endless encoders that dont work correctly.
    I am using a remote sl (original version not mk2) and automap 3.4.
    I have tried changing the knob type from normal to increment and decrement within the automap server software but this makes no difference, if anyone can help it would really be greatly apreciated!
  • fratsemacher
    junior Member
    Posts: 1
    Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2010 12:22 pm

    i need a map for novation remote zero SL

    by fratsemacher » Wed Aug 11, 2010 3:05 pm

    please help me....i started grazy!!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest